Sacred Spaces 293– All these places (these feet)

Sacred Spaces 293– All these places (these feet)
6 June 2011

Hey all, I have a new blog space for my Sacred Spaces over here: Sacred Spaces Blog

There is a SUBSCRIBE button on that site.  Please subscribe there if you like.  It would be cool to send the SS through that blog site.

I think of my feet tapping as I played guitar yesterday in church; our church that met in a small carpeted room.  (We call that, the primary room).

Then I think of my feet (stood) on some grass in a field in West Sussex (a southern borough of England) and there my feet danced (well not just my feet) to some awesome worship led by a guy named Israel Houghton.

I think of my feet strapped to a snowboard as I look down a massive mountain that lies before me; then leaning into the slope, I race down glancing at my feet I see the snow spray up past my board.

I think of those times I have stood on the shore at Nahoon (East London – South Africa), my feet covered in beach sand.

I see the cobbled paving below as my feet walk across the touristy section of Prague.

I see my feet in my slops (flip flops) as I stand outside a small chapel in the country side near (Howick – South Africa) where a small group of Christians hand over their burdens to God by throwing some ashes into the wind.  (Symbolism for handing over to God)

I think of my feet just above the dirty dance floor stained/splashed with beer and wine of a gig of one of my favourite bands.

I think of my feet running across the lawn as I go to catch the Frisbee last night during Chillax.

I think of my feet below the coffee table as I sit across from one of my youth as they tell me a bit more of their life and how they are involving Jesus in it and learning to yield their lives to Him.

From the snow in the French Alps, to the beach sand of SA, to a forest in Germany, to the concentration camp in Poland, to the House (Huis) of Anne Frank in Amsterdam, to a simple bike rides in and around Bicester to dancing, to walking, these feet have been everywhere.

And in all these places, I know Jesus has walked with me.  Because I have asked Him to.  And He promised He would never leave me.

I then think of what the psalmist wrote in Psalm 25: 15

“My eyes are ever on the LORD, for only he will release my feet from the snare.”

If we keep our eyes on Jesus, He will keep our feet safe.  We won’t walk into traps.  We won’t walk in sticky and difficult situations when Jesus is our guide.

Again, later in the Psalms we are reminded:  “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.” (Psalm 119: 105)

God can be your guide.  Will you let Him?

Think about your own feet.  Where have they been?  Have you asked Jesus to journey with you?  Have you thought about how He near He is and/or how He can be so close to you?

I then think of the dusty feet of Jesus as He walked this earth 2000+ years back.

And He one night got down to his knees and washed the feet of his disciples.  (John 13: 12 – 14)

“When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. 13 “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. 14 Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.”

Eventually the disciples caught on and understood what this meant.  Surprisingly (according to those times), a woman caught on to Jesus command first (Grace is so often found in unusual places, one day we will learn that)

In Luke 7: 36 – 50, a sinner gets it first: “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. [45] You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. [46] You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. [47] Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven — for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little.”

What an honour.  And what a mission we have… God calls us to wash the feet of others.  We walk with Him.  These small feet of ours get to follow His leading, His footsteps.

In relation to this I remember the talk by Rob Bell (Everything is Spiritual) where he gives an excellent illustration of how things are connected; click here to see video clip: Everything Connected Video Clip 

 

(Oooh, you gotta love interactive Sacred Spaces)

This above clip gets me excited.

My whole life is connected.  With my feet (thank goodness, not on my head), I have stood in many places…and just as Rob’s illustration about the fingers being connected… I felt that all these moments in my life, all these places that I have stood.  They’re all connected.  Incredible! Beautiful!

God, I love you, I’m just saying.

Leave a Reply

