Sacred Spaces 295– The bride or whore of Christ?


Sacred Spaces 295– The bride or whore of Christ?
20 June 2011

I read this from a Max Lucado daily devotional recently: HE LONGS FOR YOU
“As a man rejoices over his new wife, so your God will rejoice over you.”  Isaiah 62:5

Look long enough in to the eyes of our Savior and, there….you will see a bride. Dressed in fine linen. Clothed in pure grace. From the wreath in her hair to the clouds at her feet, she is royal; she is the princess. She is the bride. His bride. Walking toward him, she is not yet with him. But he sees her, he awaits her, he longs for her. (Max Lucado)
The church is so often referred to as the bride of Christ.  Let’s see what scripture says:
28 You yourselves can testify that I said, ‘I am not the Christ but am sent ahead of him.’ 29 The bride belongs to the bridegroom. The friend who attends the bridegroom waits and listens for him, and is full of joy when he hears the bridegroom’s voice. That joy is mine, and it is now complete. 30 He must become greater; I must become less. (John 3)

And

“Hallelujah! For our Lord God Almighty reigns.  7 Let us rejoice and be glad and give him glory!
For the wedding of the Lamb has come, and his bride has made herself ready.  8 Fine linen, bright and clean, was given her to wear.” (Fine linen stands for the righteous acts of the saints.)
(Revelation 19)

And

I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. (Revelation 21)
But do we act like it?  I felt more convicted that encouraged by that Max Lucado piece.
Do we radiate the beauty that bride of Christ should radiate?

I have been thinking a lot about that lately.  How do I look as a bride?  (No, please don’t picture me in a dress.) Figuratively speaking J

I think of my heart, sometimes it is so tainted, it is so ugly.  And I just stay in the place.  Don’t seem to improve?
I lust, I hurt people, I misuse people, I get frustrated and I lack patience.  I may be resentful at times.
I don’t feel like a bride at all?  I am a mess.

The question is am I willing to change?
Are you willing to change?

Because, truth be told… we’re sometimes “whores” not giving a care about how we are and who we are becoming?

God I want to keep feeling broken until I let You catch the pieces and do the mending of this stuffed up heart.

I just sometimes, want to say, “God I give up” (I so need YOU to make me pure again)

What about you?  Are you ready for Jesus, our bridegroom?
And how about us… the whole church?  What do we look like to the dying world around us?

With all the infighting, the politics, the gossip and slander, the grudges, the malice…. And we’re supposed to be a beautiful bride?

What in your life do you need to confess to Jesus?  What sins do we have to repent (turn totally around from) of?

I also came across this great prayer in preparing us to be His bride:

Create in us a love, O Lord.

An eternal love …

Your love.

A love that forgives

any failure,

spans

any distance,

withstands

any tempest.

Create in us a love, O Lord.

A new love.

A fresh love.

A love with the tenderness

of a lamb,

the grandeur

of a mountain,

the strength

of a lion.

And make us one. Intimately one.

As you made a hundred colors into one sunset,

A thousand cedars into one forest,

Shaped by God

and countless stars into one galaxy …

make our two hearts as

one,

Father, forever …

that you may be praised, Father,

forever.

(From Shaped by God (original title: On the Anvil)
Copyright (Tyndale House, 1985, 2002) Max Lucado.
Feeling really crap about my sin recently, I felt this song speak volumes to me today:

Check out the lyrics:

I’m looking for some stable ground
Some kinda place to lay it down
And settle for a while
I’m sick of looking for a star
I won’t show anyone my scars
Can you help me out?
I wanna see a change in me

When it’s time for another round
I get in then, I bow out
I’m kinda freaky that way
I used to stand as tall as I could
I used to be better than good
I guess I’ve made my bed
I wanna see a change in me
No, I don’t listen when they tell me
They think I won’t
Come back around
Find my way out
It’s none of their business!
It’s none of their business!
I’ve got another song in me
Because of you, I’m changing
I’m learning how to wait
Ugly as I could’ve been
Down and out and all broken
You never made me wait
You saw me
You didn’t see my shame
I’m free because you said so
And I’m learning to grow
Because you held my hand
I’m free because you said
Go, keep walking

Leave a Reply

