Sacred Spaces 296– Just look around

Sacred Spaces 296– Just look around
28 June 2011

I feel like my head is everywhere. So much to think about. I have the lyrics of BUSH (remember them?) “I don’t want to come back from this cloud.” (And I haven’t even been tripping)

I had the most incredible holiday in Italy. Probably my most favourite place in Europe so far. I will blog about that trip sometime. (So watch this space.)

I wanted a thin book to carry with me and a simple story book to take my mind elsewhere. So I brought The Magician’s Nephew (CS Lewis) with me. (PS. Please do get a copy of this book and read it)

Sitting on the train travelling between Naples and Rome (It feels so rad being able to write a sentence like that)

…as He did before… God met me through the pages of this children’s story:

From PG 126 “You see, friends, that before the new clean world I gave you is seven hours old, a force of evil has already entered it…but do not be cast down…Evil will come of that evil, but it is still a long way off, and I will see to it that the worst falls upon myself.”

What?! That is what Jesus did! This is what Jesus is always doing. Wow, Saviour Jesus… I am so thankful.

I then was moved at the imagery oh how Aslan (representing God) sings all things into creation:

“It was softer and more lilting than the song by which he called up the stars and the sun; a gentle, rippling music. As he walked and sang the valley grew green with grass…
Polly was finding the song more and more interesting because she thought she was beginning to see the connection between the music and the things that were happening… and when he burst into a rapid series of lighter notes she was not surprised to see primroses suddenly appearing in every direction…”

We have lots of questions
We have lots of issues
We have lots of struggles
We have lots of distraction
We fall so often
We focus on other things
We doubt
We hurt
We may have a long way to go

But maybe we need to just look around more.

As I read this above part of the book I looked out the train windows; seeing mountains on the one side and the glorious Mediterranean on the other side. What a beautiful sight!

WE need to look at this created world. See the Creator behind it. Knowing that I can rest my soul in Him

Psalm 24: 1 “The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it.”

Leave a Reply

