Sacred Spaces 297– Christianese

Sacred Spaces 297– Christianese
4 July 2011

My friend, Clint and I had to stop ourselves and chuckle (when last have you used this word) the other day when were in Italy. We were just so aware of our Christianese.

You know, us Christians, we’re an odd bunch of people. From weird ceremonies to unusual symbolism; however I do confess, I dig it!

This Kingdom we’re in; it’s not of this world. It’s far more than that!

Between us and even to the new friends we made (from travelling) we kept dropping in these phrases; and thinking: “Woah, to the world, this could seem very odd?!”

We spoke of “what are your gifts?” huh?
We spoke about discerning.
Or
“I felt a peace in my Spirit.”
“What is your heart’s desire?”
“I felt convicted.”
Some cliché ones:
“We have been redeemed”
“By his stripes we are healed.”
“We are saved by the blood of the lamb.”

Ah man, as I write this for the life of me, I can’t think of others. But do yourself a favour, listen to the conversation Christians have. Maybe even what you and your Christian say to each other…

We all speak a lot of Christianese. Really funny actually!

I think we should be aware of that, and realize that to a world that do not have that background at all, have no clue what many of the words or phrases we use actually mean.

But then again, we do not need to be apologetic.

Colossians 4: 5, 6:
“Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. 6 Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

2 Corinthians 2: 14 – 16:
“But thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere. 15 For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. 16 To the one we are an aroma that brings death; to the other, an aroma that brings life.”

We met some people from Canada in Italy, and as we sat on the roof at the roof bar having a few drinks; I just noted how interesting and unusual and inspiring my friend’s questions and conversation was.
It was seasoned with salt. It was beautiful aroma. It was life bringing!

I think of the conversation that so many people bring, it’s so darn boring and sad:
Talking about the weather
Speaking negativity
Swearing
Vulgar
Sex
Shallow conversation
Meat market chat “I am small talking with you right now because to be honest all I really want from you is to get with you.”
Gossip
Tearing people down

So maybe the world needs a new conversation… Jesus, speak through us, we pray!

2 thoughts on “Sacred Spaces 297– Christianese

  1. Christian Ese says:

    You have a real gifting for writing! I feel it in my spirit that God will use it. You just need to discern the right things to say, as there’s lots of secular infidels who read this. May you (and them) be refreshed and renewed by God’s grace and may your process of sanctification be uplifting to those placed around you. Okay, now I’m just talking a load of rubbish! 🙂

Leave a Reply

