Sacred Spaces 299– What were you made for?

Sacred Spaces 299– What were you made for?
18 July 2011

I assure you, I’m not crazy… bicycles don’t speak to me. But recently, on my day off I went for a cycle and decided to explore a public pathway. I was looking for a little spot in the middle of the countryside so that I could do some writing (for my last assignment).

I found myself riding on a grass path, a dirt path and some rocky ground.
If my bike could talk or show emotion; I know it would be “screeching with joy!”

Why do I say that? Because mountain bikes are made for mountainous settings!

Of course people do ride mountain bikes on the road all the time, but seriously… get those bikes out in the countryside… and it feels like a whole new ball game. (Except no balls involved)

Anyway, I just got a little side tracked… HOWEVER the analogy God shared with me… came in the form of a question?

Are we doing what we were made for?
Have you discovered that within yourself yet?

In the movie, Unbreakable (Trailer)

There is a conversation that occurs; and I keep thinking about that conversation, as I write this SS:

David: This morning was the first morning that I can remember that I didn’t open my eyes and feel sadness. I thought the person who wrote that note had an answer for me.

Then later (at another time):

Elijah: And that little bit of sadness in the mornings you spoke of? I think I know what that is. Perhaps, you’re not DOING what you are SUPPOSED to be doing.

Do you wake up with a little bit of sadness? Perhaps you are not doing what you are supposed to be doing?

(This is not a book club but do check this book out by Erwin McManus – WIDE AWAKE)
A cool video clip for the book here:

We all have a God given dream. Are we living in the dream? Are living that out?
We are each unique… we have something incredible to offer the world. What for and why?

To bring glory and fame to the Kings of Kings!
And no, that is not a cheesy super spiritual answer.

Scriptures gives us some instruction and life giving words to get us stepping forward.
Some of you may be asking and thinking, what is your God given dream or ability? What I’d suggest is to start with God.

Hang out with Him and just ask Him. Look for things you enjoy doing and see that in doing those things… do you feel a sense of call or deeper passion to better the world and bring glory to God and make known His kingdom here and now?

BUT even better still is to soak yourself in His word… what does it say:

1) Matthew 6: 33 “Seek first his kingdom and all his righteousness and all these things will be given to you as well.”
2) Ecclesiastes 12: 13 (from the conclusion of the matter) “Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep all his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.”
3) Ephesians 1: 9, 10 “He made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, 10 to be put into effect when the times reach their fulfillment—to bring unity to all things in heaven and on earth under Christ.”

So live for Him first. Help bring unity to all things. Keep God’s commandments. Respect (fear) Him. Basically, put Him first. The rest will follow.

I then thought of this song by Dave Crowder Band
Watch here:


Come Awake


“Be quiet and wait for a voice that will say


Come awake
From sleep, arise
You were dead
You’ve come alive
Wake up wake up
Open your eyes
Climb from your grave
Into the light
Bring us back to life”

My prayer and hope for you is that you will, Come Awake!

Leave a Reply

