Sacred Spaces 310 – Dealing with selfishness… I get in the way.

Sacred Spaces 310 – Dealing with selfishness… I get in the way.
17 October 2011

I am a bundle of emotions. I got in the way. And I realised that this weekend.
I kept counting my blessings and focusing on my gratitude and love for the blessings that I began to ignore “the Blesser”.

God is the One who has blessed me constantly. And I am so grateful for that.

YET I realised what I was doing… I was looking at the gifts and not the Giver.

I have been anxious the last 2 weeks about going back to South Africa.
(I really don’t know why? I am always the one up for new challenges and adventures.)

Now I am not dismissing the fact that I am human (and some of these emotions are fair, right now), however I felt God convict me.

Yes, I have had such a jol (good time) in the UK.
There have been tough and lonely times. But the incredible experiences and countries and the amazing people I have met have far outweighed that all.
Travel from the UK has been really easy. (And travel is my super new hobby!)
Especially as a single guy; basically it’s like 5 clicks and punching in a few details and you have a flight booked. (The currency of Pounds makes that easy in many cases.)

Anyway, I lost focus of what this life is about. Found in Matthew 6: 33:

“Do Not Worry
25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[e]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labour or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendour was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

My life is not about me.
Our lives are here to glorify God and show/tell the world of His awesomeness!
I believe earlier in the year, God called me home for the next chapter of my life to serve there.
I chose a life of serving Him in full time ministry and need to focus on Him and His kingdom as Matthew 6: 33 reminds me.

I love living a life of adventure, seeing new things and having a good time with friends. And thankfully life involves that too.
YET, I go back home because I believe God has called me:


To share the love and life of Jesus with teens of Durban North area,
Work with the poor (however that may look)
To tell and show people of the goodness and reality of God.

I simply ask you (as friends and readers) to pray for me that I will totally do my best for God and that God would use someone as simple as me to serve Him in this world.

Thanks for listening (reading.)
(In about 6 weeks, I will be under African Skies… my heart flutters inside.)

———
I have this sticker on my bible “It’s NOT about me” (based on a book by Max Lucado)
Chapter 1 can be found here: Chapter 1

Leave a Reply

