Sacred Spaces 317– Where it all begins

Sacred Spaces 317– Where it all begins
19 December 2011

I wrote this Sacred Space in Ladysmith… where this all began. Back in November 2004, I wrote my first Sacred Space there.

Thinking about beginnings; I think of one place where all of life should begin:

John 1: 1 – 4
“In the beginning was the Word
And the Word was with God and the Word was God.
He was with God in the beginning
Through Him all things were made.
Without Him nothing was made that has been made.
In Him was life, and that life was the light of men.”

All things begin in and with God.

And we should constantly remind ourselves of that.
We need to keep learning and re-learning this truth.

And I like how Colossians puts in chapter 1:

17: “He is before all things and in him all things hold together.”

I see and hear around me and within me, how most of us, don’t start our lives with God.
All the details of life and every breath should begin in Him.

We always try doing life in our own strength.
We make our own plans.
We ran full steam ahead.
We follow our desires and dreams without Him.

A friend of mine is really battling to make one of his dreams come true and he has been working hard on achieving that and everything seems to fall apart. And I just keep thinking (and I am not judging), how different things would have been if he went to God first with that dream?

We are all guilty of leaving God out… and bringing Him in only at a later stage…

I have had this recurring thought in my head for a few weeks now: “lose your identity in Him”

If we did, people wouldn’t recognise us, but recognise Jesus instead.

And please tell me, this is not just ideal?
I crave it to be reality even though I stuff up a thousand times!

Christmas comes at the end of each year, yet can we make it THE BEGINNING this year?

Jesus born into the world; the massive highlight of the Christian year… Jesus in His mercy dares to step into our messed up world and redeem it daily. Such is grace!

Our life began in a stable in Bethlehem many years ago. So this Christmas may fall at the end of the year; however it’s the START for us, as we face and live yet another year.

“For in Him we live and move and have our being.” Acts 17: 28

——–

THE PS part (I will probably write about this soon):

Please check this book out:

Twitturgies

It has moved me incredibly over the last 2 weeks.
Simple prayers of only 140 characters each
Less is more.
Prayers to help one focus
I start each day, reading a prayer or two.
I want TO BEGIN each day with Him, so often I forget that.

An example of one of the Twitturgies:

Continue Us

We are none of us finished
None done.
We are half-baked
Half-built
Half-beautiful
Creator God, continue us
Craft us to completion

Leave a Reply

