Sacred Spaces 319– Sentimental

Sacred Spaces 319– Sentimental
4 January 2012

I write this first SS of 2012 in my new home here in Durban North, South Africa.
3 years ago, God and I went on an adventure abroad to England and some other amazing countries.
3 years ago, I packed up some of my stuff in boxes and my brother and mom kindly kept them for me.
Now after 3 years, I open the boxes.
I realised what rubbish, I have hoarded and held onto, “Why?” I ask myself.
I threw away 3 large (ish) boxes of stuff that I honestly won’t ever look at again, or use.

I look around my home. I don’t have much. As an aspiration and goal I want to try and live with “not much”.
Because if I am honest, I think that probably 80% of my country’s population live with less than what I have?

I again think about how we are actually supposed to be “camping” here on earth… YET we often fall into that thought pattern that we are permanently lodged here…

Colossians 3: 2 reminds us: “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”

Or from Philippians 3: 19 – 21: “Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is set on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Saviour from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.”

And God also sings to me through these voices:

Alanis Morissette (Citizen of the Planet)
“Then I fly back to my nest, I fly back with my nuclear but everything is different. So I wait, my yearn for home is broadened, patriotism expanded by callings from beyond So I pack my things nothing precious all things sacred”

&

Switchfoot (Where I belong)
“But I’m not sentimental. This skin and bones is a rental and no one makes it out alive
Yeah, until I die I’ll sing these songs
On the shores of Babylon
Still looking for a home
In a world where I belong”

So as you start this year, 2012…know that each day we live brings us one day closer to seeing Jesus face to face.
I can’t wait for that day. To give Him a hug

So with all this moving in, I did still keep a sentimental box. From a medium size box to shoe box. The main sentimental stuff I kept and put up on my cupboard doors.

See picture here:

I was moved by the people I have been blessed with to minister to them and share God’s love and truths with them.
I am humbled by God’s grace. I have said and done many a silly or stupid thing, yet as I see these farewell cards, good luck cards, hand created posters and memorable photos…God has given me these people.

I have hopefully helped them in some way.
And they have most certainly helped me.

I felt a little teary reading the little messages people wrote.
This is the 4th church now that I will be working for.
And I see it’s about the people. God adds to my “world-wide family”

And so it is with your lives too.

Life is not about the things we gather. It’s about the people we have around us.

(That’s why the bible is filled with many “one another” passages. Love one another, forgive one another, encourage one another. Those commands can’t be done with things, but with people.)

God placed us here to “shine for Him,” to tell that world that Jesus lives and cares for them.

NEW ADDITION TWITTURGY

Recently I introduced you to Gerald May’s Twitturgies

I have been inspired to write my own twitturgy each time I journal and also each week when I send a SS out, I will add a twitturgy too:

This world is not my home
My heart yearns for that day
When You will hold me
Until then,
With gratitude, I will care for
My world-wide family

One thought on “Sacred Spaces 319– Sentimental

  1. I’m deeply moved by this – challenging! I love your style of writing too, keep it up 🙂 Thanks for sharing as you discover the sacred.

Leave a Reply

