Sacred Spaces 322– The Great Commission

Sacred Spaces 322– The Great Commission
25 January 2012

At Youth we are doing this series: “Looking at Jesus”
I have had these lyrics and this song by Hillsong United in my head:

“As I look into the sky above
Wonder how my life has changed
Wonder how Your love, it came to me
As I look into the sky above
All my fears, so far away
All I hear is heaven calling me
So I look to You
So I look to You
No one else will do”

So leading up to Lent, we will be looking at different parts of the life of Jesus. The things He did and the things He taught.

I pray the words from the above song resonate true on your life. No one else will do but Jesus.
In November last year, I heard this intellect answer some difficult questions. I didn’t really understand everything he said, but this I do remember, his concluding words:

“If you don’t know Jesus, I urge you to go the gospel of John. And before reading, start with this simple prayer: ‘Jesus, reveal yourself to me’ and pray that with sincerity. I promise Jesus will reveal Himself to you.”

That profoundly stuck with me. That is the power of the gospel, the power of the good news; when we look to Jesus, we will meet with Him. He will change our lives for the better, oh yes!

Matthew 28 – The Great Commission
“16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

A friend/pastor pointed those 3 words out to me in verse 17. After seeing all that Jesus had done, seeing Him rise from the dead, seeing His miracles, “but some doubted”
How crazy is that? Yet that is true of our times too.

A lot of us still live with the tension of that “come and going doubt”
I’d suggest we need to keep running and looking to Jesus, no matter what.

Then this passage challenges and commands us:
Go and make disciples
Baptizing
And teaching them to obey

That commission is for each and every-one of us!!! Where ever God has placed you, whatever office, factory, classroom, work place… that is your mission field.

Look at the world. See how desperately it needs a Saviour.
Look to Jesus. See how He is the Saviour.
See to it, you live out that commission!

Spend time with people, listen to where they at. Ask intentional questions. Tell them of what Jesus has done. Your life and its blessings and hard times (how you got through them) have never been done on your own strength. There is underlying grace and truth that Jesus lives and breathes through your very veins.

And He ends off with a promise to never ever leave us.
That is super comforting in itself.
Soak in that promise.

TWITTURGY

Jesus, focus our gaze
Look to You,
Show us how you see things
Clarity
May our sight
Lead to action
Teach us
A view of heaven on earth

 

Leave a Reply

