Sacred Spaces 323– The Last Supper

Sacred Spaces 323– The Last Supper
31 January 2012

Sitting outside on my stoep against the wall, feeling the breeze; things just feel right in the world…right now. I think I’m letting God in more of my life… and it feels incredibly awesome!

(I know that reads weird, a Youth Pastor writing that…but it happens)

Continuing our theme of “Looking to Jesus”
We meet Him at a table of bread and wine.

26 While they were eating, Jesus took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.”
27 Then he took a cup, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. 28 This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. 29 I tell you, I will not drink from this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.”
(From Matthew 26)

Firstly, I like how earlier in the story… Jesus sends some disciples to a “certain man” instructing to use his house for dinner. The Son of God can do that I guess. Just made me smile… Awesome!

I wonder after Jesus had died on that cross and rose from the dead, how that man who “housed the Last Supper” must have felt? Maybe he thought: “Wow, I had God in my house, and look what He achieved. Imagine if I had Him in my heart too…”

I like how after a small piece of wafer/bread and a tad wine/grape juice, I feel satisfied within.
I always have this thought after a small taste of the symbolic meal:
A little bit of Jesus goes a long way.
(Cheesy, possibly, yet true: definitely!)

Jesus was big into meals. He went to people’s houses.
He saw behind “what they did for a living” or “who they were in public.”
Over a meal (and gotta add some wine), you get to see the people in their real form.
Not saying that people are faking it out of the house.

However I guess as we step out the door, the demands of the day hound us constantly and maybe we are not always entirely “relaxed.”

I guess we can just learn a good ministry example from Jesus.
When we meet and minister to people, we make progress when they are “relaxed.”

Ministry over a meal may go a lot further than we realise.
(But please don’t ever label it: “going to your house to minister to you” Gosh, your guest may just poison your meal.)

Just a reminder of what the elements mean. The bread broken represents Jesus’ body broken for us. He died for you. Our sins/wrongdoings come with consequences. Think about it. Every sin or bad deed we do, it hurts someone else… each time.

Jesus died to take away our punishment.
I wish so often I would be tearful or even more sincere in taking communion. I mean, my God died for me… incredible.

Then the wine reminds us of His blood.

Blood gives and brings life to the veins.
Same with Jesus; His blood gives us NEW life.

What do you think that new life looks like?

New meaning
New purpose
New perspective
New attitude
New sight

Look to Jesus at that life you will learn!

TWITTURGY

Spirit,
We can’t see you
But your touch we feel
As the leaves move
Move in my life
As you spreads nature’s seeds
Spread your love & meaning
Through me

Leave a Reply

