Sacred Spaces 332 – Songs and Psalms (Volume 1)

Sacred Spaces 332 – Songs and Psalms (Volume 1)
15 May 2012

I seriously get back on my knees (metaphorically) so often with God.  He gives me the coolest of ideas at the most random of times.  And it’s then, that I feel within, that the idea is if Him.  For the next few weeks (I am gonna try keep these SS shorter)… and am gonna work around this theme verse:

Theme Verse:
Colossians 3: 16 “Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.”

(Each week I am gonna share a brief section from a Psalm and some inspiring lyrics) just to encourage and inspire and maybe teach you something.  I know I do lyrics already; but these SS’s will be more structured. (If that’s possible in my world):

Dave Crowder Band – After All (Holy)

I can’t comprehend your infinitely beautiful and perfect love
Oh I’ve dreamed dreams of majesty as brilliant as a billion stars
But they’re never bright enough after all
You are Holy
Oh Holy
Holy, Holy, Holy
I will sing a song for you my God with everything I have in me
But it’s never loud enough after all

Recently, I have been pondering the “life space” of certain artists as they write epic lyrics, such as the ones above.  Sometimes I totally identify (and then other moments, I crave to be in that similar place they were when writing the song).  There is something spiritual about music.  I believe God can choose whatever He wants to speak to His children.  So here this “Songs and Psalms” journey begins:

Truth is we can’t comprehend how beautiful God is.  What have you stared at or seen recently / or in your life up to now, that has just made you shut your mouth and stand in awe?

Our dreams are small.  God sees things so differently.  It’s actually exciting knowing that.
Our views are finite…
(Do listen to the song and hear the emotion in his voice and he sings to our BIG God.)

Psalm 42: 1 – 4

1 As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.
2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.  When can I go and meet with God?
3 My tears have been my food day and night, while people say to me all day long,
    “Where is your God?”
4 These things I remember as I pour out my soul: how I used to go to the house of God under the protection of the Mighty One with shouts of joy and praise among the festive throng.

I have been feeling for a while now that I have had many “distractions” or “other gods” in my life.
I need to totally put ALL my focus back on my Saviour.
I want my soul to thirst so desperately for God that in fact, I would die without Him in my life.
I have learnt over the years that God is not a distant God sitting on clouds tuning harps.  He is right here.  Right where we are, we can meet with God.
The key thing to do is to put aside daily distractions.  Because “daily distractions” aren’t bad in themselves, however we make life “too busy” and end up shoving God out…
Make constructive time this week, this day to meet with God; get in that habit again.

So sing and live in psalms and songs…

TWITTURGY

I “got things to do”
I have many gods
Pulling my attention
Away from You
You are holy
You are infinitely beautiful
Help me live like that
Is true

Leave a Reply

