Sacred Spaces 334 – Songs and Psalms (Volume 3)

Sacred Spaces 334 – Songs and Psalms (Volume 3)
29 May 2012

Theme Verse for this Series:
Colossians 3: 16 “Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.”

Delirious – Obsession
And I’m so filthy with my sin
I carry pride like a disease
You know I’m stubborn God and I’m longing to be close
You burn me deeper than I know
I feel lonely without hope
I feel desperate without vision
You wrap around me like a winter coat
You come and free me like a bird
And my heart burns for You

I was privileged to see Martin Smith perform in Kloof (Durban, South Africa) recently on Good Friday.  He sang this old song of his (Delirious acclaim): Obsession.

It was such a beautiful moment.  It felt like God and him were having an intimate moment in front of us, and we got to be intimate with God too.  It was surreal, it was heart stirring.

BUT

I want more than that though.
I am tired of just “moments” with God.
I want my heart to burn for God daily, each moment of EVERY day.
Not just some times.
Not just on “spiritual highs”

Yes, we are filthy with our sin, yet God wraps us like a winter coat.
I crave that closeness with God.   How about you?

What are the practical steps we can take?
I think the most simplest and yet most profound thing to do is out God FIRST.

How many things/idols do we put before him?
How would it look if God was our first love?  Before our spouses, children, friends, things, careers?

What does a burning heart for God look like?  Any ideas? (Interaction is allowed.)

Psalm 24: 1 – 6
The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it;
2 for he founded it on the seas and established it on the waters.
3 Who may ascend the mountain of the Lord?  Who may stand in his holy place?
4 The one who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not trust in an idol or swear by a false god.
5 They will receive blessing from the Lord and vindication from God their Saviour.
6 Such is the generation of those who seek him, who seek your face, God of Jacob.

We seem surprised sometimes!
This earth is the Lord’s.  EVERYTHING is His.
We act noble sometimes and say to God “I will give you this” or “I will give you that”
When all along it is His already.
God transcends our definitions of “ownership” of things here on earth.

Mountains were often places where people met with God and worshipped Him.  We may approach God too.  Yet our hands need to be clean.  (Not a literal thing), but the metaphorical idea that: our actions, our lives need to be pure.  We need to strive for that constantly.

And that starts in our hearts.
I would love people to say of me: “he has a pure heart”
(Not for a pride thing.  But to be a good example of my Father)

TWITTURGY

 
My God
My heart
May they collide?
Be my obsession
Let moments not
Pass me by
Where I don’t soak in You
Each Step
Your Breath
Your/my life

Leave a Reply

