Sacred Spaces 337 – Clothes Off

Sacred Spaces 337 – Clothes Off
25 June 2012

This is seriously just a lending of the title of a cool song by Gym Class Heroes: Clothes Off

When our minister was preaching in church yesterday he shared an analogy of his running shoes.
And he made a quirky comment about his shoes bragging to the other shoes that they have “run” the Comrades Marathon.
That humourous picture transported my mind to these thoughts:

Weirdly I am a little sentimental about some of my shoes and hoodies that I own.
If they had to chat in my wardrobe about “their adventures” they would most certainly have a whale of a time. (How rad is that old-school metaphor?)

My shoes; they would “share stories” of walking on snow, streets of London, Rome, Gent, Amsterdam, or even volcanic ash covered ground. And a whole lot more.

My hoodies would tell of the various weathers they had to weather.
They would tell of the various chapters they journeyed with me in my life.

Hear me out, this above ramble, is not the point?
My mind asked another question:

What if all the places that I have been to spoke of when I was there?

In other words, what affect did I have in those places?
(And that question is for you too.)

The places, the lives we walk into? What affect do we leave there?

Reminds me of a few scriptures:

“For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing” 2 Corinthians 2: 15

“Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it.” Hebrews 13: 2

”Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. 6 Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Colossians 4: 5, 6

How challenging and true are those scriptures?
We as people of God should leave positive effects on people.
They should feel the love and hospitality of Jesus when we are with them.
When we leave, would they sigh and say “Thank goodness they have gone!”
Or would they feel sad or grateful because they really enjoyed our company and ultimately the love and joy and peace we shared with them.

TWITTURGY

These shoes have stood on many
Different grounds
These coats have weathered
Many conditions & climates
You oh God guide my feet
Light my path
You wrap & cover me with
Your love

Leave a Reply

