Sacred Spaces 341 – This city


Sacred Spaces 341 – This city
17 July 2012

So I sit from this place where I am house sitting and get to see the most stunning view of Durban City. These city lights get me thinking these things:

Firstly a pic of Durban City Lights, my measly camera:

Then one I got off the net:

I guess best view is by day, from my camera again:

(Oh for variation in these SS)

Often, I think in lyrics (as you have probably noticed by now). These two songs come to mind:

1) Blindside – City Lights (Click on title of song to listen to it)
2) U2 – City of Blinding Lights

Some words from them:

“And I’m starting to smell something beautiful
Though these streets are rotten
Trade love for the city lights
You chose me to stay” (Blindside)

“I’ve seen you walk unafraid
I’ve seen you in the clothes you made
Can you see the beauty inside of me?
… Oh you look so beautiful tonight
In the city of blinding lights” (U2)

I look at this city from above.
From this vantage point, I think of the view of God and how He could possibly see this city?

He sees potential in this city
He sees creativity in this city
He sees hurt in this city
He sees loneliness in this city
He sees life in this city
He sees death in this city
He sees joy in this city
He sees the movement of His spirit
He sees despair
He sees hope

This city is packed with a lot of emotions and conditions.
I thought of the whole “laying of hands” we do in church as a symbol of God’s anointing on the “person” we pray over.
That got me thinking about us on this hill that oversee the city. In a metaphorical way, what if “we laid hands” and prayed for our city?
Are we as people who loved God, pray-ers?
Do we pray for the mighty movement of God?
Does that prayer lead to effective action in our own lives?

We could walk past people in this city that are aching; would we notice?
We could walk past people, who need a potent word of encouragement spoken to them; would we speak that word?

Now, I am talking about the city of Durban, yet wherever you read this from; the same applies to you and the city or town or village that you see.

My mind wonders to this verse we know oh so well:

“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden… In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 5: 14 & 16)

Carry the Light of love and hope and grace into the city you see!

TWITTURGY
These flickering lights
From cars
And city buildings
Sometimes want to fade out
People calling out for hope
A Light that would shine
Upon them and their circumstances
Use me, Lord as Your torch

Leave a Reply

