Sacred Spaces 343 – When I consider

Sacred Spaces 343 – When I consider
1 August 2012

I sit in the dining room of my brother’s home as I write this.  And I am certain that you have seen this verse before:

O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth.
You have set your glory above the heavens.
When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? (Psalm 8; 1, 3 – 4)

Stop at the 3 words that I highlighted: When I consider

Today and this week and this moment in your life, what do you need to consider?

i)             When I consider Your creation?
This psalm mentions but a few: the stars, the flocks, the herds and the birds of the air.  The Drakensburg Mountains, the endless rhythm of the ocean, sea shells, the transformation of a caterpillar to a butterfly, the array of colours that is displayed each day at sunset, the ferocity or serenity that clouds bring or  the long neck of a giraffe and the trunk of the elephant.  I will stop now; you get the idea:

Our God, the One who looks into each detail of our lives.  We can be in relationship with Him.  We can whisper or scream at the top of our lungs, and He sees and He hears.

He is concerned.  When I consider creation, how can I not consider the beautiful Creator?

ii)            When I consider how You see me?
I mark myself sinner too often.  I mark myself “good for nothing” I am most certainly “my own worst enemy” at times.  I don’t always have the self confidence that I should have.  I don’t see myself too often in the eyes of God.  And that must stop.

John 1: 12 reminds us: “Yet to all who received Him… he gave the right to become children of God.”  (Read verse 13 too.  Actually read the whole of John 1: 1 – 18.  It will stir truth in your heart.)

If we would stop bashing ourselves down and live in the identity of whom we are in Christ:
Redeemed, forgiven, saved, loved, rescued, victorious, beautiful and desired. (to mention but a few.)

iii)          When I consider the hurt around me?
You don’t need a map to find brokenness and hurt.  It’s on our doorsteps.  It’s in our households.  It’s in our offices and classrooms.  We see it by the traffic lights.  We hear it in our own hearts.

When we consider the hurt?  How do we respond?
Do we live in ignorance and “pretend” we can’t help alleviate the pain, even just a little?
Jesus commands us the “show His kingdom come”, here and now.
What does that look like?
The kingdom involves restoration and healing.  And yes, He would use mere people like us!

iv)          When I consider my sin?
We are wretched.  We are twisted and messed up.
We can’t keep living in these cycles of destruction.
Sin leads to death.  Follow the consequences of our actions and we see the hurt and destruction and demise.
We need to stop sinning.
And thankfully the strength does not come from our selves alone.
God strengthens us.

v)           When I consider life?
How often do we play the card “woe is me” why is this happening?  What can’t I have this or that or this experience or that adventure?
Yes life is out there.
BUT life is here too.
Life is a gift.  All around us is teeming with life.
Will we embrace it?
Will see in the very fibres of everything around us, the Author of life?
Enjoy your life.
Live well, live inspired!

I have just suggested 5 things, there may be something very different, that God would like you to consider?

Will you consider stopping to consider what He would like you to consider? (That is quite a mouthful, hey?)

TWITTURGY

I don’t stop enough
To consider
Help me to see
And to respond in
Worship & love
God, when I consider
Who You are
I’m humbled
Thanks that You even consider me

Leave a Reply

