Sacred Spaces 347 – The 4 Classical Elements (Water & Words)

(This is the last of the classical elements in my Series of these past few Sacred Spaces.  I hope you have found them helpful.)

“I never knew words could be heavy.” (I am the messenger, Markus Zusak)

I have just finished reading the most incredible book I have read thus far in my life.  See more about it, here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Messenger_%28Markus_Zusak_novel%29

I myself am amazed at the power and beauty of words.
Those words I read transported me elsewhere.
They took me to another world and time.
They stirred my heart and emotions.  On one page I was laughing out loud and then the very next page my gut was being pulled out from my skin.

I got thinking about authors.
They are people who write to express a story.  Their stories that they create are entertainment for us, the reader.
What an industry?!  What an art!
They spend a year (if not more) marrying words and imagination and getting them published into a book for people to enjoy.

I love reading.
I am sure many others do too.
So maybe this is promoting the “reading world” and asking you to appreciate the stories that are around us; either in books or even in the lives of the people we see daily.

Jesus taught in stories.  He told parables that went right to the hearts of His listeners.
When someone’s heart is touched; from there they do and change whatever needs to be done or changed.

Last week, most of South Africa had constant rain for about 3 days.
The sky weighed with greyness and the rain seemed to pour from the sky like a tap with an irreparable leak.
I thought of how creation outweighs all the technology that the greatest of minds have managed to come up with.

We have towering skyscrapers, we have incredible cellular technology and we have amazing transport; yet when it rained like last week, we were reminded: God is bigger.

The rain slowed things down.
The rain reminds us, there is something bigger than ourselves.
We can’t contain the wildness of God’s creation.
And we keeping fooling ourselves every now and then that we can, but to no avail.

I wrote about words and I wrote about water and here they both meet in this piece of scripture:

“As the rain and the snow come down from the heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: it will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”
(Isaiah 55: 10-11)

What story are you telling?
What story are you reading?

Know that Jesus offers words that give eternal life:

“Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from with him.” (John 7: 38)

Know that our words have the power to build and destroy.  Hopefully we use them, to build.

TWITTURGY
 
We throw them casually out
Words without a care
Sometimes we hurt
Sometimes we create
God you always speak
A positive word
A word that brings hope
And truth
Speak now.
Wash over us.
We wait

Leave a Reply

