Sacred Spaces 352– Through People and Pedals


Sacred Spaces 352– Through People and Pedals
16 October 2012

On Saturday I helped my brother and Chane’ move into their new place; I was so impressed to see how all our friends joined in and got involved with helping them with the move.  From carrying boxes, to taking stuff to the rubbish to unpacking boxes; this was a great sermon example of community.

Then on Sunday, I cycled and completed the Amashova Race (106km from Pietermaritzburg to Durban) in 4 hours 12 minutes.  I was super stoked to complete the race.  It’s been a good year for me of achievements.  Earlier in the year, I saw the midmar mile too.

I am grateful that I am able to take on challenges and complete them too.

I got to experience community in the riding too.  All along the way there were spectators who had come to support loved ones and friends, however even when I cycled past (and other strangers to them) those spectators cheered us on really enthusiastically.  When you are tired those cheers are more than welcome!  I was reminded of that scripture in Hebrews: “we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses.”

We are made to experience community.

Then a simple reminder of how beautifully God is involved in our lives:

When I was riding my bike yesterday at one stage I was cramping in my left thigh at 40km and really just needed to press on.  But I said a prayer “Jesus, heal this cramp please” and a few minutes later I saw written on the frame of a bike ahead of me: Jesus Christ Saves.

Amazing!

Then near the end at about 70km or so, I was just feeling so tired and I looked ahead at some cyclist’s vest; printed on it was: Phil 4: 13 which is “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Just in case, you forgot:  God is involved in your life.  Look around.

TWITTURGY
 
I look out to far lands
And sometimes ignore my near surroundings
Right beside me
There you are God,
In the ebb and flow
You move in my life
Grateful

Leave a Reply

