Sacred Spaces 360 – 12/12/12 (Life takes time)

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 360– 12/12/12 (Life takes time)
12 December 2012

So people were talking about the end of the world coming soon.

How about a song tribute: REM
(There is always a song for every occasion)

Truth is; there is an end to our lives.  I think people fear death so that’s why they get so worked up on knowing when the end is coming.  However having faith and belief in Jesus; I have a peace within, that’s hard to explain… but allows me to not fear the end.
However this post is not about the end, but rather the journey there.

Life takes time.

This is something I have been thinking about lately.
So using the date (that carries all sorts of speculation): 12/12/12, I wrote this:

12_12_12-300x200

12 minutes (drinking some coffee)

I don’t mind tea.  But I do prefer coffee.
However this blog I read from a mentor and friend of mine has changed the way I take a coffee break (well sometimes at least) – http://candidpresence.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/imagine-a-world-without-tea/

We live our lives so fast; we’re always in a rush. (Well, that’s how I feel at times)
Maybe we could take our tea/ coffee break up to an effective 12 minutes:

Pause / listen to our soul a bit.
Read an inspirational blog.
Or even say a little prayer.

I was reminded of this prayer that Richard Foster wrote:

Somehow, Jesus, I like praying with a cup of coffee in my hands. I guess the warmth of the cup settles me and speaks of the warmth of your love. I hold the cup against my cheek and listen, hushed and still.
I blow on the coffee and drink. O Spirit of God, blow across my little life and let me drink in your great Life.
Amen.

12 months (in a year)

I have had quite an eventful year: http://darrelhoff.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/between-a-pair-of-slops/

This verse from John 15 has popped into my mind:

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2 He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. 3 You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. 4 Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.
5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15: 1 – 6)

When Jesus taught this principal He could have been walking in a vineyard holding the branches of these vines.
A vineyard takes a while to mature; a good number of years to produce decent grapes.
Sometimes I act in a “rush with my ministry” like I got to “get deep” quickly…but maybe that should not be so.
Roots take time to grow.
In spending time with people, building relationships, those sorts of things don’t take a week to form.

In speaking of eternal things and kingdom living, that takes the entirety of our lives… to grow and “take root” in the hearts of men and women.

12 tribes (of Israel)

The world is big!  I know I am stating the obvious.
But we’re part of something huge.  We’re part of something small.
I thought the other day, Christians (and Christian haters) go on about saying and moaning that there are so many churches.  (Yes, sometimes Christians are a pathetic bunch with their petty arguments.)

Yet practically, let’s be stoked (pleased) when there are lots of churches.  (Well, churches with people in them).
It means: this story, this love of Jesus, is being told of and shared with people.
So build these churches.  But fill them with people who need to hear the beautiful life changing story of Jesus.

Also often I’m just super grateful that my family has grown “worldwide.”
12 years of ministry, 5 communities I have lived in.
I have friends from various churches, communities and countries.
I sometimes may feel lonely where I am (settling takes time… there’s that concept again: taking time)

God, thank you that your family and the people you place in our lives are just so precious and meaningful to us as we journey and live on.

TWITTURGY
 
We speak of endings
We speak of things far bigger
Than our understand
When you in fact
Do not begin or end
You are above and beyond time
God of no borders
I trust in You

ssignature no 4 cropped

One thought on “Sacred Spaces 360 – 12/12/12 (Life takes time)

Leave a Reply

