Sacred Spaces 363– Harold Fry and a secret world…

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 363– Harold Fry and a secret world…
16 January 2013

 

I want to share some of the latest news in my life; and in sharing tell of the lessons God is teaching me currently; in my sacred spaces.

(Remember we all have lessons being taught to us all the time.  We need to learn to the sacred in our lives.  Your sacred space may differ from mine.  God is always speaking, question is: are we listening?)

Last week I registered to do five subjects through TEE College in order to get my THEOLOGY degree.  (In 2006, I completed my diploma in theology, now I want to further that.)

Why you may ask?

It’s not really for an academic purpose.  Or for a “calling to be a minister” purpose?

I will always have a ministerial and pastoral heart as I live out and learn from my relationship with God.  (That’s not supposed to surround arrogant at all!  It’s essentially the call of all of us as His followers, to be “agents of His love.”  What a beautiful thing.)

So I study for another reason, an act of faith.  (I still wrestle with God not seeing that I will be a “minister of a church in the usual way” … still can’t see me doing that.  Maybe it’s stubbornness?  However;

I study and will complete my theology degree (in the next three years) because I felt God stir this verse in me from Jeremiah:

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the Lord” (29: 13)

 

I guess it feels a little bit like a spiritual “hide and seek” God and I are playing.

More news; I am currently reading this book: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13227454-the-unlikely-pilgrimage-of-harold-fry

Illustration of man walking into distance along pavement

It’s about a retired gentleman (65 years old) named, Harold Fry who walks across England.  And along this physical journey he begins to take an inward emotional journey where he reflects and deals with stuff in his life, past and present.  It’s really moving.

And the simple lesson, I get from that from God is that each of us, CANNOT ignore and should NEVER ignore that invitation to journey within.

I think it’s fulfilling (and very helpful) even if painful at times, to take that inward journey.
We discover a lot of the hidden things of life when we dare to look within.

And the last lesson I learn is from an international treasure hunt that I have got into recently.  You can find out more here: http://www.geocaching.com/

I can’t tell you much.  Because as geocachers we call those who don’t know about it: muggles.
((If you are interested in adding some adventure and extra fun to your life, look this up.)
Here is an apt description from (Wikipedia) for you:

“Geocaching is an outdoor recreational activity, first played in May 2000, in which the participants use a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver or mobile device and other navigational techniques to hide and seek containers, called “geocaches” or “caches”, anywhere in the world.
A typical cache is a small waterproof container containing a logbook where the geocacher enters the date they found it and signs it with their established code name.”

What makes me smile about this new hobby of mine is that this has already been going on for 13 years.  I have just got involved.

It’s been right next to my world the whole time.
It’s like a parallel universe.
And got me thinking a little about God and how it’s sort of similar to those who have just “denied” His existence.

Your belief or disbelief in God doesn’t give Him permission to exist.  He exists despite us.  And in His mercy He reveals Himself.

There is more going on than we see.
There is a “parallel” existence if you will call it that.
God and His kingdom breakthrough into this realm; deal with it!

TWITTURGY
 
I hide
Behind the walls I make
You see through them
This back and forth I can be
And You simply say:
I will be found by you
Because You never hide
From me
Why would You?

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

