Sacred Spaces 364– Intentional words

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 364– Intentional words
23 January 2013

Today, I finished this fictional book I have absolutely adored over the last week.
It was called: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (written by Rachel Joyce)

What I liked most about it was the intentional use of words that the author crafted the story with.
As I read the words, my mind and heart saturated the scenery around Harold Fry and I understood his own emotional journey that he was taking in the story.

I believe that is because the author was intentional with her words.  Those words brought out things for the reader.

Jesus too was intentional.  He still is.

intentional

With a woman bleeding for 12 years, when He heals her, He says “Daughter, your faith has made you well.”  That’s the only time in the entirety of the gospels that He calls anyone daughter.  So His intentional words restore this lady physically and emotionally.

There is a man in John 1, named Nathaniel; when Jesus meets him He speaks intentionally giving him a new identity: “Here is a true Israelite, in whom there is nothing false.”

How’s that for Jesus affirming a person?

Or what about the encounter with a man born blind in John 8; this man has been given the social stigma of being a sinner, the people even said his folks were bad.
Enter Jesus, He speaks with intention: “Neither this man, nor his parents sinned; this happened so that the power of God may be displayed in this man’s life.” Wow!

Imagine that walk to the pool of Siloam where this blind man had to wash his eyes out that were covered with mud and saliva.  He would have repeated those words of Jesus over and over in his mind: “the power of God displayed in my life.  Wow!”

Jesus is intentional.
Question is how intentional are we?
There is some challenging truth found in James 3.

“With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness.” (v9)

Now that teaches of intention.  How careless are we with our speech?
How often do we “spark off fires” (v5) with the reckless things we could say?
In concluding, what words are you speaking?

Are they words of healing and life and love?
What words are you giving out to the world?  Are you intentional with what you say?

As I know this year holds many times of preaching and teaching, I pray that the words that I use fall in the right places bringing conviction and life on behalf of my Father.

In December 2011, I was given a farewell gift from the minister I worked with in Bicester.

He gave me a book called Twitturgies by Gerard Kelly.  This writer has also impacted me a lot with his intentional brevity.  Using the format of Twitter he expresses prayers to God in 140 characters or less; and in doing that his words carry great intention and convection.

This week (instead of myself making up a Twitturgy, I use one of Gerard Kelly’s)

TWITTURGY
 
Tongues of angels
Words of men
Soldier’s sword
Poet’s pen
Sounds on earth
Songs above
Nothing has meaning
Without love
 
(Gerald Kelly)

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

