Sacred Spaces 366– At home … (but not realising it…)

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 366– At home … (but not realising it…)
5 February 2013

This could be seen as a part 2 of last week’s post as I happen to look at the same passage I mentioned last week and I changed the heading a little.
Call it what you may…
The widely used story of the Prodigal Son mentioned in Luke 15; these verses jumped out at me as I reread them last week:

“But he answered his father, ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends.” (Luke 15: 29)

“‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. (Luke 15: 31)

Oh dear, how I sometimes see myself in those lines.
How about you?
Have you become bitter in your faith?
Are you sulking about where you are right now?
Is that what this relationship with God has become for you: “A slaving for God and being a blinded rule follower”?

If so, move quickly away from that place.
The older boy in this story represents: legalism and restriction and obligation.
Following Jesus is not about that.
If you are in that place, I dare to challenge you: be set free of that!!!
The Father in the story replies and responds with a statement of relationship and partnership.

NO!!!
Your faith should not be about slaving away for God.
It’s about living with Him / sharing life with Him.
Look around yourself; see what you have with Him already.

website-mgnt

TWITTURGY
 
I hear the party
I never saw the horizon
I heard the jealousy
Not the joyous music
I look at the supposed lost
When it was I
Who was blinded!
Amazing Grace
I’m home with You

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

