Sacred Spaces 369 – Dear John

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 369 – Dear John
27 February 2013

Dear John,

No need to worry, this is not one of those letters.
Besides you have been long gone, having dwelled on this earth, many years before me.
I don’t know if you will read this, but I am sure your Father, the one that draws us altogether, past and present and even in times to come.

He is the One who will observe these words.  He may convey the message to you.
However, if this letter falls in the hands (or computer screens) of others; I simply pray that the words of truth that you, dear John penned many years ago, will remind them of our Father’s love and purposes.

The letter (gospel) you wrote shows you walked with the Son for a few years.  You saw how He lived.  You heard what He said.

stock-photo-4215488-dear-john-letter-with-pen

You started off with this:

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome [understood] it.”
(John 1: 5)

You saw the word become flesh.
You saw the glory of the Son, full of grace and truth.

Those words I have often claimed as my “power verse” reminding me of Jesus, who will not be extinguished.  Maybe the darkness does not always understand Him.  Come what may, the darkness will NEVER snuff Him out.

And in this truth, in this Saviour, I put my trust.  That’s reassuring!

Then you wrote this of yourself: “One of them, the disciple whom Jesus loved, was reclining next to him.” (John 13: 23)

How it must have been something so beautiful for you to jot those words down.  You would have remembered Him with fondness.  Our Saviour, who you knew without a doubt loved you.

I wonder if people from here and now, in 2013; if they really believed that Jesus loves them; how would they live differently.  Would they live with more confidence?  Would they live with more conviction?

Now, let me ask you about your time on that island, Patmos.  I wonder how it must have been, away from the world, no distractions and in that place, God revealed to you some striking imagery and assured some heart-warming promises.  You inscribed these words:

‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”  He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” (Revelation 21: 4, 5)

In your mind, how did that look?  I have such peace of mind when I imagine it.
Our world this year, 2013 (as I suppose of many other years), is aching.
Heroes have fallen, lives damaged.  People are lost.  People are cold (in both senses of the word.)  People are broken.

But you wrote those words, “I am making everything new” with sincerity.

I hold onto that.  I pray others will too.
But not only hold onto it, but ask our Father more frequently:

“Your will be done on earth, as it is in heaven.”  And then when they declare amen, their lives express that prayer in action…

Your brother in Christ,

Darrel

TWITTURGY
 
Gospel to Revelation
He saw
He loved
His Saviour
From the good news we hear
To the truth He reveals
So can we love Him
Our Saviour

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

