Sacred Spaces 371– Being thankful

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 371– Being thankful
13 March 2013

Life is about learning, right?
Today, I had a lesson on being grateful.
Seriously, I can be such a brat sometimes and act so ungrateful.
And Jesus, in the ordinary convicts me.
Two life examples that happened to me (but you could think about your own examples in your life):

My mom had bought me some chicken out of care and the goodness of her heart.  My first response was to complain about it being the wrong type of chicken.  Seriously, what a selfish punk I can be?!

I then felt that quiet Spirit inside of me stir: “That’s the response one shouldn’t have.”
I then apologised and expressed gratitude to my mom.

Also prior to this occurrence, I had received post from a friend.  She had kindly sent me a new book; one that has been on the market for only a short while. (Crossroads by William P Young, author of The Shack).

Hands holding a gift box isolated on black background

My first message (bbm) to her was… ‘I got your parcel, but unfortunately I got this book already.’

How ungrateful am I? Shucks!

I learnt two lessons today.  I need to be more grateful for the many kind deeds I experience in my life.  I am also thankful that God speaks to me in that still small voice and I actually hear it, at times.  Thank you, Jesus.

Now, I know I could end this post off with some scripture speaking of “gratitude.”
However, right now, I can’t recall an exact reference.
Yet, I know with conviction, a continuous theme from cover to cover of His word is gratitude.

So in this week, in this year 2013, I am still learning in the school of life.

What do you need to be more grateful for?
How is your attitude?
When last have you said thank you?

TWITTURGY
 
Give thanks with
A grateful heart
“Thank you” is more
Than habitual words
Gratitude helps me
Be content
 

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

