Sacred Spaces 374– Is God into Himself?

Sacred Spaces 374– Is God into Himself?
11 April 2013

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

In my little quiet space two mornings ago, I read this passage from Colossians 3:

“23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.” And further on:

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful. 3 And pray for us, too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ, for which I am in chains. 4 Pray that I may proclaim it clearly, as I should. 5 Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. 6 Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

What a great reminder to why we are here.  What a challenge for us to think about.  And then apply to action.  Faith without actions is dead.

So I wonder if I am the only Christian who struggles the way I do.  Seems others don’t have these issues (maybe they just don’t talk about it. Hmmm)

Often, I battle with my selfishness.  This whole “living for God” solely and entirely; it’s very difficult to do.  I am far from perfect.  And then sometimes I just the lack the desire;

I have these interests and dreams and desires which I feel God, may just take away from me.
The whole “putting Him first” wow… Can we really do that?  Do you?  Tell me how you do so?

The application of that is very tough.
Hear me out here.

I once heard Louie Giglio suggest “God is into Himself”
Now that carries lots of “negative” connotations.
But in God’s case it’s not.

big-god-small-me (Medium)

If we knew what God knew!!  If we saw the world and life as He did, we would realise how foolish and ignorant we can be.

I mean if God was unsure of Himself.  Would we put faith in Him?
Imagine God thinking: “I am not sure, if I am totally omnipotent and omnipresent.  I am not sure I am the God of all life.”

Of course He is!
And our relationship with God; is it for free?
Yes it is!

However, there is a BUT:

God never designed us to live in isolation
To live separate from Him and His entire creation and universe
Meaning: When we “GIVE our lives to God,” in other words, accepting that God is real.

He then wants us/commands us to:
–       Be an example of His life and love
–       Be joyous as it is His nature
–       The list goes on)

Yet, it has to begin in Him.  LIFE starts with HIM!!!

Dreams, creativity, life, sex, beauty, peace, serving, helping, making a difference, adventure, love, hope… all of LIFE itself is God’s idea.

When will we ACCEPT that?

I went to the Kairos Closing Ceremony last Sunday.  I heard such moving testimonies of prisoners who are in Westville Prison.  Well, that Kairos ministry is such a selfless serving ministry.
They’re about caring/loving those in prison; and THE weirdest and UTTER truth is that God loves those sinners just as much as he loves us sinners.  He views each of us EXACTLY the same; (Mind blowing!)

And here I am being selfish with God.
When the world NEEDS a hand…

I need to take mine out my pockets.  How about you?

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

