Sacred Spaces 377– Something in your eye; could it be wood chips?

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 377– Something in your eye; could it be wood chips?
30 April 2013

black dot

If I showed you this picture and asked you what you saw, I am sure most people would respond: “I see a black dot.”

However there is another way of looking at the picture. One could say: “I could see a whole lot of white space surrounding a black dot.”

Sadly too often people judge others but the “black dots” they see in their lives.
Our judgements can be so hurtful.
Our judgements can be so incorrect.

Jesus once taught “why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in yours?”

I am not excusing the “black dots” that people do.
I am not disputing that you have been hurt by people.
I am not arguing that some “black dots” break down a whole lot of trust.

I am saying: Let’s not define people by their “black dots”.
Because truth is that there is a lot of white space around that black dot.

Yes, deal with the black dots in the best possible way; a way of love and reconciliation.
However, don’t use your judgement in a negative way.
Because that helps no one!
Some people have a tendency to compare their “black dots” with others.
If their black dot is smaller than the other, then they’re better. How foolish.

TWITTURGY

I have been hurt
But you are our Healer
Help me Jesus
Not to imprison others
With my judgement
Help me to use the planks in my eyes
To build bridges
Of reconciliation

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

