Sacred Spaces 379– Dear reader

 

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 379– Dear reader

14 May 2013

 

Dear Reader (http://dearreadermusic.com/),

(See what I did there, promoted my favourite (sort of) South African band with a link.)

 

However, this is not about them.  However what a great band name!

I write to you with a full heart.  I write to you with an empty heart.  I write with an unsettled heart.

I write hoping that you would respond.

 

I don’t know where you will read this week’s sacred space.  Whether it’s in the office, or on a bus, in a coffee shop, on your phone or at home; I pray that it finds you well and peaceful.

A peace that transcends understanding.

A wellness despite situations.

I want to you to be so assured of this truth contained in 3 words:

 

Jesus loves you.

 

However that cliché, may it not annoy you or get you in a defensive stance.

We’ve heard it said a lot.  But maybe haven’t felt its weight for a long time.

Week in and week out, you may read this blog, possibly subscribed to other emails, verses for the days, etc… yet you haven’t felt that love of Jesus.

I hope you would get that opportunity.

 

As I wrote above; I write with a bit of an unsettled heart.  Let’s talk about Justin Bieber.

I have never noticed it with other gigs… yet with him this apparent pop sensation; I have felt ugliness inside.  Heck yes, well done for the talent that he has.  However I have been disturbed with the fan mania that has gone with his visit to South Africa: a mob mentality / trend followers / pop culture to the extreme.

I love passionate music followers.  Respect to them.

However I felt that there has been a sense of obsession with this young artist.  There has been an over-obsession with him, which seems rather unhealthy?  I just feel unsettled by it.  (Just a feeling of mine)  So I write just sharing that with you.  (Take it or leave it.)

 

Questions!  As I have got older I seem more wrapped up in questions floating about in my mind.  I have lots of things I ask of God often.  Things I don’t understand.

Hurt and pain and injustice happening around me; lately I feel I am more bummed out by it.  Things I have heard about friends and others.  My heart is broken, carrying a weight that angers me.

 036 header_bear

“God, where are you?”  I ask.  You may ask that too.

In all the hurt and chaos I think the best answer would be to have Jesus hug me for real.

And I long for that day.

Until then, in God’s own unique and tangible way with you… wherever you may be in this moment; I’d hope you feel God’s presence convincingly.

 

Last week Thursday was Ascension Day.   (I forgot about it…oops.)

Acts 1: 11 “Men of Galilee”, they said, “Why do you stand here looking into the sky?  This same Jesus, who has taken from you into heaven, will be back…”

(This is a passage about the ascension.)

We are challenged by a singular verse.  In your life right now, are you still looking at that sky?

If so, bring your gaze down, look ahead of you… and advance forward.

 

I always wonder if these words I pen (well type) fall on hearts needing to hear that week’s particular sacred space.  A big thank you to the many who forward this on to others every week; respect and gratitude!

 

 

Love Darrel

 

PS.  If you are keen to check out a song by dear reader, do click here:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iO2v9QXMlwk

 

TWITTURGY

 

These miles divide us

These words join us

His love holds us

The ocean is for everyone

His grace

May it collide with is all?

Crash Love

ssignature no 4 cropped

2 thoughts on “Sacred Spaces 379– Dear reader

Leave a Reply

