Sacred Spaces 385– Can I pray for my national football (soccer) team?

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 385– Can I pray for my national football (soccer) team?

25 June 2013

 

The other day, my country’s team (Bafana Bafana) played a qualifying match for FIFA 2014 World Cup.  The funny thing is that I prayed for our team to win.  They didn’t.  (Oops, that didn’t work)

 

But this is not about that.

What side is God on, in sport?

 

What does scripture say about sport?  I know there is a passage in Philippians somewhere about an athlete in training.

 

I think of two incredible moments in the history of my country: 1995 Rugby World Cup and 2010 FIFA Football World Cup.

 

Where am I going with this?

As a nation those were proud moments for us.

Black and white, all cultures we stood together.  We celebrated our win in 1995.  Just as we had entered a new era as a country: the new South Africa, a massive sport’s event created unity in our country.  And then with a win of that tournament and our president shaking hands with the captain of the squad.  A picture that painted a 1000 words.

 2045838_IPDNEWS Bafana_fans_Shine2010 Bafana-Bafana-fans-WC.jpg.ashx bmc830soc_0017w

Then when Bafana Bafana played in the world cup in 2010, to see the unity among our people.  The pride, the locals showed the foreigners… priceless.

 

God is all for unity.  He is about bringing people together.

That’s the gospel.  That’s the goodness!

 

Ephesians 1: 10 “to be put into effect when the times reach their fulfilment—to bring unity to all things in heaven and on earth under Christ.”

 

So could God use sport?  Will He use sport?

 

It’s up to Him, but I believe in some countries in certain times in history… He has used sports for a greater good.

 

As people decorate their faces, wear their team’s colours, sing their country’s anthem.  Where locals show hospitality to tourists.  Where a team hears their supporters chanting with enthusiasm and love… something more is most certainly going on…

 

So this SS, is not massively profound, but just something I have been mulling over in my head.  Our God uses the common things, the things we know… to bring about change, to bring about good things, look out for them in your own life.

 

TWITTURGY

This ball is round

Reminds me of the symbolism of a circle

Representing oneness

Unity

So as the ref blows the whistle

May I realise a lot more is going on here

Than people just cheering on

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

