Sacred Spaces 390 –Sixty Seven

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 389 –Sixty Seven

30 July 2013

 

It’s been twelve days since Madiba’s birthday.  And in a moment of creativity on that day, I wrote a blog entitled 67; which covered  words of Madiba; spoken words that brought challenge, life and restoration.  Now piggy backing on that I write 67 words that Jesus spoke:  

 

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25: 35 – 36)

 

“Love your neighbour as yourself.” (Mark 12: 31)

 

“Take heart, for I’ve overcome the world” (John 16: 33)

67 

These words challenge us to look out to further than our neighbour / to look at our neighbour / and then to be reminded of His promise and His comfort.

 

Some of you may not be sure of what “God’s plan” for you is yet?  What career should I go into?  Should I change my current career?  Maybe the “title” of what you do is not that essential.  But wherever you find yourself: surrounded by students, artists, accountants, teachers or any other type of people; Matthew 25 needs to be part of your daily living!

 

Daily there are people who are hungry at traffic lights.  There are always sick people around us.  (Who needs a visit?  Where is your local hospital?).  Maybe when you’re buying a new item of clothing you should have the conviction to give an older one away.   Or better still, instead of buying one item, buy two and give one away.     

 

Loving your neighbour; we know this command.  But how are we doing with that?  Love comes in all ways: listening, giving a helping hand, saying something encouraging, to name but a few… any other suggestions?

 

And maybe today as you read this, you need to hear, “TAKE HEART.”

 

Maybe, you are feeling defeated and down?  Maybe life overwhelms you?  Maybe the problems in the world seem too big.  Will you be reminded of Jesus’ promise, he has overcome the world!

 

Lyrics:

“So take heart

Let His love lead us through the night

Hold on to hope

And take courage again” Hillsong United

Listen to song HERE

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

