Sacred Spaces 395 – Coffee

homesfin SS header 4 cropped

Sacred Spaces 395 – Coffee

3 September 2013

 

I like my coffee.

I like my Jesus.

Can’t believe I haven’t written a SS in relation to enjoying coffee and loving God and life yet.

So here it is…

 

Do you notice how sometimes it seems there is a theme or a theology that God wants you to know at a certain time of your life?

This past weekend I took my Confirmation group away and a recurring theology kept coming up:

 

One about being STILL.

IMG_0280 (Medium) 

On this past weekend away, I sent the teenagers off for a silent retreat.  One hour long.  They came back so revived and excited.  They really needed that.  Another time I sent them with the intention of listening to what God wanted to say to them.  The listening and being still was what they really wanted and enjoyed and found very helpful.  They came to the conclusion that their lives are too busy and noisy.

 

Maybe that’s what is really impactful about a cup of coffee.  (You can fill in the words ‘hot chocolate’ or ‘tea.’)

Besides the fact that coffee tastes really good.  Except Ricoffy (A South African brand.):

Coffee allows you to slow down.  It allows you to think about things from a stress free position.

Viewing life from behind a mug of coffee can be rather helpful.

 Coffee

Richard Foster once wrote this simple prayer for coffee time:

 

Somehow, Jesus, I like praying with a cup of coffee in my hands. I guess the warmth of the cup settles me and speaks of the warmth of your love. I hold the cup against my cheek and listen, hushed and still.

I blow on the coffee and drink. O Spirit of God, blow across my little life and let me drink in your great Life.

Amen.

         

How effective are those words?  The simplicity of holding that warm mug can remind us of things.  Remind us of God.  In my time of retreat over the weekend I was reminded of this verse:

 

Isaiah 30: 15 “In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it.”

 

I like it concludes.  “And you would have none of it.”  Isn’t it true and weird of humankind that a solution could present itself right before us, and yet we “ignore” it… thinking we note better.

Where does our saving and strength come from?  In rest and quiet!

 

So will you be quiet?  Will you rest?  I hope that you and I would heed that excellent advice.

 

So as you hold that cup of coffee will you pause and listen to what God may want to say to you?

May you use that time to regain perspective on things you are dealing with in your life?

 

Song Lyrics or Twitturgy:

 

“Spoon in spoon, stirring my coffee, I thought of you.”

(Dave Matthews Band – Spoon)

ssignature no 4 cropped

Leave a Reply

