Sacred Spaces 230: Where did the goodness (in humanity) come from?

sacredspaces_head3

Sacred Spaces 230: Where did the goodness (in humanity) come from?

25 January 2010

(I am posting these old posts in conjunction with my latest post: Sacred Spaces 400)

So it’s probably predictable that I would write about the whole Haiti thing happening at the moment.  We all want to add something to the conversation:

Why is it that I have Eminem lyrics racing through my head as I wrote the above sentence?

Haha! Here’s my ten cents, my two cents is free… A nuisance, who sent? You sent for me?”

I once heard something from a role model Pastor, Barry Marshall (R.I.P).  He said something along these lines: “You should only preach if you read the Word and the newspaper hand in hand.”

That’s never left me.

Now, I know I may be a little guilty of ignorance.  Out here in France, I don’t listen or watch or read the news… but I did happen to hear about the earthquake disaster in Haiti.  Now before I wrote this, I read some news articles, some blogs and browsed through some pictures on all that is going down in Haiti.

 It’s honestly crap, all the ridiculous things that have been said on why this has happened!  Do people actually not pay attention to the rubbish that comes out of their mouths?

 I refer to some stupid American Pastor who claims that what happen in Haiti is because of a pact sworn with the Devil.  (I just wonder how many times, God shakes His head on the nasty ungraceful things some Christians have said on His behalf?)

Check out this very interesting blog on the Haiti earthquake disaster: Ask Why?

http://julieclawson.com/

 I was really moved by this blog that Julie Clawson wrote; and the one before.

 BUT back to what I originally wanted to share on this whole thing:

 Besides everything being so publicized I was moved to see how many countries have got involved in aiding Haiti.

There is a tragedy, and beautifully in the heart of mankind there is a kindness to lend a helping hand.  Among the crap in the world, we get a glimpse of a goodness of people.

Where did it come from?

No need to label it “of Jesus” or “of God” but I do believe, despite the sinfulness of man, there is a graceful image in each person.

 Whether people believe it or not, we were made in the image of our Creator.

 God is good.  God is love.  And in this selfless act by humanity (helping the Haitians); we can smile at the blue print of what God had in mind…

 The unity and care of the world to one another; so let’s not point fingers or say stupid things;

 Let’s show our love by our actions:

John 13: 35: “By this all men will know that you are my disciples if you love one another?”

One thought on “Sacred Spaces 230: Where did the goodness (in humanity) come from?

Leave a Reply

