Sacred Spaces 242 – This whole Loch Ness Monster thing…

 

sacredspaces_head3

Sacred Spaces 242 – This whole Loch Ness Monster thing…

24 May 2010

 (I am posting these old posts in conjunction with my latest post: Sacred Spaces 400)

I thought about this during my Scotland trip.  So you can call this our Scottish Space: SS (haha!)

 

So let’s start with some verses:

Hebrew 11: 1 “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

Luke 1: 37 “For nothing is impossible with God”

Mark 11: 22 & 23: “’Have faith in God,’ Jesus answered. ‘I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘go throw yourself into the sea’ and does not have doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him’”

With all scripture we do have to read them in context so bear in mind these verses refer to a heart holding onto unwavering belief beyond reason.

So during our trip to Scotland, my dad gave me this DVD to watch on The Loch Ness…and while watching the documentary I thought of some things.

          Why don’t people believe the apparent eye witnesses of Nessie?

          Why would it be so hard to believe that a Loch Ness creature exists?

          I mean, I saw that loch… it’s really, really big!

          So are we certain that mankind has discovered all they can now?  I am sure there is still more to discover.

          This is not really about the loch ness monster anyway

How is your faith?  How much do you believe in God?  How much do you believe Him?

          When we pray, do we pray with unwavering belief?

          When last have you witnessed a miracle?

          Do you still believe in miracles?

          It’s not important, but could the loch ness creature be real?  Would it even matter?

          Do you believe that people can still be healed?

LochNessUrquhart

Some homework (not quite) for you to do: Ooh public interaction time; please watch this clip I uploaded from Chronicles of Narnia – The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ruxo-YLoz-A

I love this scene and how the old man replies “And you don’t believe her?”

Our faith in God demands and depends on us believing beyond reason.

If we started believing with that faith again, I believe the kingdom of God will move forward in leaps and bounds.

We may have laughed off those people who said they saw the loch ness monster.  People have called them crazy?  Then what are we and those who proclaim they believe in God?

Are we crazy?  We say we have seen Him.

Faith is not only about being rational it goes far beyond that.

It may seem foolish in many eyes…

 But faith in God is what I still choose.  Laugh at me if you like; I’m still gonna believe!

Leave a Reply

