Sacred Spaces 406 – Of staying away from the edges

26 November 2013

Take 1 – From the Scriptures: Leviticus 19: 9 & 10
“When you reap the harvest of your land, do not reap to the very edges of your field or gather the gleanings of your harvest. Do not go over your vineyard a second time or pick up the grapes that have fallen. Leave them for the poor and the alien. I am the LORD your God.”

I like this verse a lot.
It carries a life principal that we ALL should PAY attention to!

landscape

Take 2 – Of tipping (for scholars)
This is my little opinion but I hope it goes a long way.
Sometimes with our young people from our church we go for a milkshake or small meal.
Maybe their parents give them some pocket money for the outing.
I do note sometimes young people fall into the trap of not thinking of the 10 % (at least) for the tip (gratuity).
So if they were given R40 to spend, they may look at the menu and see what costs that amount. (Forgetting NOT TO GATHER right to the EDGE of “their” harvest)
When in fact they should be looking for something that costs R36 or less and the rest is for the service of the waiter/waitress.

Take 3 – Of a good life principal (and maybe a tattoo too?)
This thinking should extend from the dinner table to other areas of life.
I had about 30 t-shirts in my cupboard. What on earth for?!
So I took about 10 of those and now have them in my car, read to give to any beggars who may want one.
(Nothing, necessarily massively life changing, but it’s instilling a principal within me.)

If you were looking for a tattoo idea? How about something around this theme?
Would surely create good discussion when you’re out and about…

Take 4 – Of being aware (of others)
From shopping (thinking about fair trade products), to giving to the petrol attendant who fills your car, to not over indulging in anything; such as clothes, CDs (use to be my struggle) or even our conversation. (Do you tend to dominate the spotlight, not letting others have their say?)
Look to the edges… some quieter person with profound wisdom may have something important to say…

I need to look outwards.
Give me that attitude, to look beyond myself.
Because as they say “the world is a stage” but heck, I’m not the only one on it…

Song Lyrics or Twitturgy:

“I’ll meet the needs for the poor and the needy, God, I’ll follow You into the world” (Leeland)

Leave a Reply

