Sacred Spaces 415– Tell me a story

18 February 2014

 Catherine has this shirt with this awesome saying printed on it:

 “Collect memories; not things.”

I like that. I really like that.

large

I am not fazed by the new car you got.  Or your new SLR camera.  Or about the new gaming console you bought.

I want to hear stories about your life.

Another quote that I was sent (this morning, in fact):

“The most important things in life aren’t things.”

 

When did you feel most alive? 

What are the most incredible things you have seen in nature?

What do you love about your children?

What makes your heart skip a beat?

Tell me about when you helped someone else.

What is your favourite memory?

Tell me when you felt connected to something far deeper than what we see.

What makes you utterly convinced about God’s existence?

Tell me what you find fascinating about Jesus.

Tell me about the times when you doubt your faith.

Tell me about the time you stood on a mountain top and shouted at the top of your lungs: “Woohoo, I am alive!”  (Have you done this yet?  If no; when will you?)

Tell me about how you have experienced grace.

What gives you purpose?

 

Now, that’s what interests me!  Now for me; that’s what makes up the fabric of life.

Those answers.  Those stories.  Those memories.

 

I remember a time; I went backpacking with my friend, Clint in Sorrento (Italy).  He and I were sitting on the rooftop talking to other travellers.  I was inspired by the questions Clint asked the others.  He didn’t asking boring questions.  He asked about their experiences and how they made them feel.  I won’t forget that memory on a roof somewhere in Italy.

 I like how Jesus met with people.  And the questions he asked / the conversations he initiated:

 With the Samaritan woman he met at the well; they spoke about living water.  How intriguing is that?

Jesus with the blind man (Mark 10: 51) “what do you want me to do?”  Jesus again; is inviting to hear this man’s story.  I like that.

Even with Zacchaeus, Jesus invites him to have an EXPERIENCE with him.  “I must come to your house.”  In other words; I’m coming for dinner and wine.  I want to hear about your life.

 

 He didn’t start His conversations in these ways:

How much do you earn?

How big is your house?

How many cars / cattle (for back in His day) do you possess?

Why do you like your sandals?

 

In my understanding; He wasn’t about that.  He wasn’t about things.

A verse that reminds us of this principal is here:

 19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. 22 “The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light. 23 But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness! 24 “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.” Matthew 6: 19 – 24

 Two things are common to everyone.  We are all born.  And we all do die.

We take nothing with us.

But this SS for me is really not about taking a dig of what people own and collect.  It’s a challenge; requesting:

 

Tell me a story.

Tell me about a memory you have.

 Because I believe life is about that!

 

If you want to share a story with me; I would love to hear from you.

 Quoted:

 “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6: 21

2 thoughts on “Sacred Spaces 415– Tell me a story

Leave a Reply

