Sacred Spaces 417– Ashes to Ashes (Ash Wednesday)

 

5 March 2014

 He asked him, “Son of man, can these bones live?” (Ezekiel 37: 3)

As Ezekiel stood staring over the valley of dry bones.  He wondered.

 

As I stand at the back of this memorial service and I hear the man in front leads us in a familiar rite of passage “dust to dust, ashes to ashes.”

Ah the finality of those words.

 large

Death excludes no one.  I wonder is there more.

 A long time ago, before Ezekiel and I were alive;

The LORD God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being. (Genesis 2: 7)

 

Is there life after death?

Does death have the final say?

 I, like you, am in need of hope.

 A wise man named Solomon ponders the beautiful fragility of life:

All go to the same place; all come from dust, and to dust all return. (Ecclesiastes 3: 20)

 

Now on Ash Wednesday the minister in front of the church marks us with ash.  A solemn sign.  It represents our mourning and repentance to God.

We had gone our own way.

We almost believed that death had the final say.

We had thought; that those dry bones cannot live…

 

THEN;

There is a rumble among the bones.  I feel a breath rush past me.  I see God putting His very breath (the source of life) into those bones.  Where there was despair; hope comes as skin covering bones.    

I then smile.  It makes sense now.

In autumn (fall); I see those leaves fall to the ground.  I thought that death was an end.  But I learnt that those leaves bring nutrients to the soul.  Bringing life.

 

Death to life

Despair to hope

As we go on this Lenten journey.  The one where we begin to focus on God’s place in our live.  His power.  Less of us, more of Him.

Will you relent your lack of trust, your despair to our Father?

 

During Lent people give up something.

I have decided over the next 40 days; I will be giving up blogging (including these Sacred Spaces) of all sorts.

I just felt God ask that of me.

So I will be back after Easter.

Have a good one.

 

Quoted:

“Oh God, I’m sorry I placed those marks on You…

And I hear You say back to me:

“Mark My words, child you are mine.” (From my poem: Mark my Words)

 See it here: http://darrelhoff.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/mark-my-words-ash-wednesday-i-wrote-this-4-years-ago/

 

2 thoughts on “Sacred Spaces 417– Ashes to Ashes (Ash Wednesday)

  1. All Is Vanity says:

    Someone once said: ‘Death is the most beautiful part of life’
    I believe that very same thing.
    Thanks, lovely thought.

Leave a Reply

