Sacred Spaces 425– No particular theme

2 July 2014

I have no particular theme to focus on in regards to God and life with Him. I’m just going to type away and see what leaks out from this keyboard and mind:

Catherine has been here for the last 4 & half days. It’s been really good.
I feel that through the fibre of the various happenings in our lives we can sense and know the touch and grace of God. Here are some observations from my own:

On Sunday, Catherine and I went for an ice-cream and a walk along the beach and at one point; we paused and prayed. I loved that moment. We made our faith very tangible. Just talking out loud to our Father. Felt so right.

Last week, I was ill. Had a horrible cough and had lost my voice. I was booked off work for two days. During those days; I hardly said anything, to anyone. I was silent.
Heck! That was so needed; firstly, it helped with my recovery.
Secondly, it was just good to be still… words sometimes get in the way.

I thought of that scripture from Ecclesiastes where the writer suggests that we should “let our words be few” when entering that holy sanctuary of God. Now, that’s a good approach to all of life.

I preached on Sunday. I spoke about faith through the eyes of a child. And then I challenged the adults and teens present to DISPLAY a big picture of God. I shared this verse with them:

Deuteronomy 11: 18 & 19 “Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

This command struck a chord deep within me. It speaks of a faith that is so practical. We should be intertwined with the things of God. It shouldn’t be a forced effort. Our love and fascination of God should just pour from our very lives. It shouldn’t be compartmentalized!

It’s hard to pen exactly what I mean. But things with you and me and God should really be more natural. I wake up and thank God. I inhale a fresh breath, and feel a sense of gratitude. I marvel and the colours of flowers and butterflies.
Again, I remind you, we’re part of something far bigger! Embrace it.

One last thought, we have our holiday club running this week: a 4 day event for children during the holidays. In planning it, I have made a concerted effort that the teen leaders/volunteers need to take on a lot more responsibility. And to see them thrive on that challenged. I can only but smile. It’s so good to see young lives being challenged and learning good life skills.

Quoted:

“Breathe You in.” Thousand Foot Krutch

Leave a Reply

