Sacred Spaces 427– Blue Monday (Something about anger)

15 July 2014

Yesterday, I had a horrible day!
I haven’t felt so angry in such a long time.
It started with my old cell-phone (mobile) network provider stealing money off my account. To cut a long story short: After a visit to my bank and a heated telephonic conversation with one of the Virgin Mobile consultants; I’m hoping I get the money back today. (Seriously, be very wary of getting any mobile contracts with Virgin Mobile South Africa)

What struck me though, was how being angry affected the rest of my day.
It’s strange to me, how one small action of injustice angered me so much.
Here are some of observations (in no particular order) from my horrid day, yesterday:

I once heard someone say that “anger robs your joy.”
That’s can be so true! If we let it? And yesterday, I was not the master of my own emotions. I let the anger take my joy too.

If one person made you angry, you must not take it out on others. Yesterday, after the visit to the bank, I walked past a guy who tried to sell me avo’s (fruit). I had to hold my desire to lash out at him. It wasn’t his fault. It wasn’t he who cheated me.
I even felt a little offish towards my girlfriend, my mother and some others too. Why?

At lunch, my sandwiches didn’t even taste good either! What?!
(Yeah, it’s silly I know. It seems I had let anger filter into all parts of my life.)

Then at home, I ran myself a hot bath. Even lying in there; annoyed me.
Wow, yesterday, anger truly felt like a poison seeping through everything.

do-not-let-the-sun-go-down-on-your-anger

So, what should I have done with that anger? (What can we do with anger?)

I think in our lives, we need to learn (quickly) what “coping mechanisms” we can use to deal with anger. Here are some suggestions:

Sleep. Sometimes; going for a nap can be super helpful. It calms you down. When you wake up, you have a fresh perspective.

Music. When I was driving home, I noticed that the calm music that was playing on my stereo relaxed my mood. What music calms you? Use it.

It reminds me of a story from scripture: David would play music for King Saul to calm him down.

Pray. Prayer is not old fashioned or out of date. It works. We’re spiritual beings and prayer connects us with our God who gives us this promise in Philippians 4: 7

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

There is this peace from God, than cannot be contained or quantified but it can fill our lives. And calm the weariest of hearts.

Guard your hearts. You may know that Proverb that tells us to guard our hearts for it is the wellspring of life.
Well yesterday, I realised I need to take stock of my life. Check my emotions. See what is going on with my heart…? Because, I let one action that angered me, affect my whole day! I gave that anger too much power in my life. (Lesson learnt. I hope.)

Lastly. Don’t let the sun go down on your anger. So true!! Why would you want to wake up the following day with anger in your heart? If you were angry. Keep it in the day. Deal with it. And go to bed with a clean slate. A new perspective.

I feel better now. Have a great week!

Quoted:

“”In your anger do not sin”: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry,” Ephesians 4: 26

2 thoughts on “Sacred Spaces 427– Blue Monday (Something about anger)

  1. Oh dear, anger so easily creeps up on us! Glad you could shake it, and not hold on to it. One certainly does not need a black cloud over ones head! Curse anger, especially if it takes away from enjoying food 😛

Leave a Reply

