Sacred Spaces 430– And they said a picture paints a thousand words.

4 August 2014

Part of my job is to put up the words for the Sunday night service.
Hmm, doesn’t seem so revolutionary, right?
Or perhaps as the timeless adage states: “a picture paints a thousand words” relates to when I put up the words for Sunday nights.

Because, you see, I don’t just load the song words. I also load the background picture too.
I try and relate the picture to the theme of the song and to the sermon (message) of that evening.

Why do I take care in doing that? Because sometimes a picture does so much more than words would/could ever do.
Hence, the appeal of Instagram and other similar social media outlets.

So, there may be even just one person, who yawns their way through the sermon, fidgets during the singing, or merely has their mouth shut (Because it’s sort of awkward singing with people standing on either side of you); however, the backdrop (picture) behind the words move them immensely.

DSCF4040 (Medium)

What do you think about that?

Another thought: I’m not really a fan of Christian movies. And there seem to be a whole lot coming out recently: Noah, Son of God and there is also one about Moses, I think?

Why, don’t I like them?

Two reasons mainly, the acting is horrific! And some of the script of those films portrays a very cheesy Christianity. (I’m sure a lot of people agree with that.)

However, I still hold to the fact that God in His sovereignty can use a movie to reach even one viewer. So, I let my criticisms go.

I do remember one film a few years back that made me wonder if the producer / director was a Christian. Remember, Will Smith in “I am Legend?” Now, the film is brilliant. Good script. Good story line.

What grabbed my attention massively was as the movie ends, before the credits roll… the screen goes black… and in white writing across the screen is the command: “Light up the darkness”

Something to that affect. It got me thinking, perhaps that one line was what the film maker wanted to get across to the viewers all along. He used a good story to capture the viewer’s attention and then: BAM!

Such a potent line strewn across the screen!

So next time you’re in a church; pay attention to the stained glass windows or the banners or the pictures behind the song words. The message you’re needing to hear may come without words…

Quoted:

“For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.” Romans 1: 20

Leave a Reply

