Sacred Spaces 433– Stop giving general answers about God

 

26 August 2014

 Who-do-you-say-I-am

Who is God to you?

 This week’s passage is Matthew 16:13-16

 

“When Jesus came to the region of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, “Who do people say the Son of Man is?” They replied, “Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, Jeremiah or one of the prophets.” “But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?” Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

 

One of my pet peeves in ministry I guess are the “general answers” we as teachers (in ministry) get.  From Confirmation classes to bible study groups or many other discussions.  People sometimes gives those “nice answers” thinking that’s what we want to hear.

 

Who is God to you?

 

You see often people STAY at the surface level when it comes to talking about God?  They don’t mention their REAL feelings and thoughts.

 Often people give GENERAL answers:

 So tell me about God?  People would often answer:

 

He is loving.  He is kind.

He knows us.  He helps us.

He created the world.

 Yes, yes, yes those are all true.  But they’re general answers.

 

Who is God to you, right now? 

 

We always seem to “follow the crowd” with our answers…RATHER let’s make it personal.  Go below the surface:

 

Today, how do you feel about God?  Tell me what He is exactly to you now, in this moment of your life?

 

I could be honest and say:  Over the last little while, I have been frustrated with God.  I’m not sure of the life calling He has for me?  I feel insecure.  But somehow He speaks of being having confidence in Him.  But I battle with that.  How does what I do matter, really? I have unanswered questions of Him.  I shake my fist at Him.  There are some things of “Christianity” that confuse me and annoy me.  But also somehow He is still a constant.  That moves me.  That keeps me coming back to my God.

 

You see, what I did there?  I made that answer far more personal. 

 That’s what Jesus asked of Peter: who do you say I am?  I’m not concerned what “others” say… right now I want to know WHO I AM TO YOU:

 

How would you answer?

 Quoted:

 “Give me just a second so I can catch my breath

As I fall into the arms of love

My heart is overwhelmed

And I can barely speak”

Jonah 33 (You’re Beautiful)

Leave a Reply

