Sacred Spaces 440– Emily heard my voice

28 October 2014

(Perhaps that title would make a good band name…)

On Sunday evening, my loving family came along to support me at our Confirmation Service.  Chane’ shared the most adorable thing with me.

So they (my family) were sitting in the cry room.

(It’s a room assigned for those with toddlers and overlooks the church behind some soundproofed glass.  There, the parents can “watch” what’s going on in church while their kids play or cry [haha!] and they can also HEAR through the speakers… what is being said.)

Now every time I spoke… Emily “heard” my voice come through the system in the cry room and exclaimed: “It’s Uncle Darrel”

Emily is two.  How precious is that?!  She recognized my voice…

That got me thinking… do we recognize the “voice of God?”

John 10 talks about this voice recognition:

 “The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. 4 When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.”

In your life do you recognize His voice?

IMG_2401 (Medium)

Quoted:

“The voice of the Lord is over the waters in splendour and power, igniting the air” (Voice of the Lord) Dustin Kensrue

Leave a Reply

