Sacred Spaces 441– Creativity and Symbolism

4 November 2014

I’ve discovered over the past few years that I am rather creative.  Well, I’m not trying to blow my own horn.  But to be honest… when I grew up… I never thought of myself as being a creative type.  A thinking I discovered a few years ago is from that verse in Genesis that says we are created in the image of God.  So that means; if God is creative; being the Creator and all – we each also have creativity within us.  Discovering that: reall.y did unlock some potential in me..

As a youth pastor I get to express that creativity.  Being involved in preparing our church’s evening service I get to use symbolism and creativity to “paint” pictures and imagery in people’s lives.  I love it.

This past Friday was Halloween.  So I was thinking “trick or treat.”  Then I decided to make little trick or treat bags.  Each bag had sweets.  And I gave that to each youth kid who came to our Friday Youth.  But I didn’t leave it at that.  That would just be a usual Halloween activity.  However to each “sweet bag” I added a word of a verse.  So the 11 bags that I had made up… each added to construct an entire verse.

The verse was:

“Everything is permissible.  But not everything is beneficial.  Everything is permissible but not everything is constructive.” 1 Corinthians 10: 23

And I got to use that to teach and share some thoughts on the Christian and creative view of looking at Halloween.

I’m passionate about challenging every person to make their faith in Jesus tangible and near.  Not some distant airy fairy faith!

Moving to this past Sunday, we had All Saint’s day or Remembrance Day at our church.  During the service we showed a slide show of all the folk in our church and nearby community that we had buried (those who had passed on) over the previous year.  Always a sad and moving time for those who have lost loved ones.

In our evening service, we decided to add a candle response to that.  After having communion the church were encouraged to light a “tea-candle” (not sure where that name comes from?) along the communion rail.  I was moved by how many people responded to the symbolism.

20141102_192620 (Medium)

The candles alight on the communion rail looked absolutely beautiful and pensive.  There is just something about candle light in darkness… perhaps that’s why Jesus referred to himself:

“I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8: 12

He is the hope we need.  He is the hope we crave.

Amen.

Quoted:

“So where’s your landslide?  Where’s your victory?  Tell me now, where’s your sting?” Thrice

Leave a Reply

