Sacred Spaces 443– God in Geocaching

18 November 2014

Over the last two years I have enjoyed this new acquired hobby of mine: Geocaching.

The idea with it, is to follow a GPS coordinate to a physical location where there will be a container hidden.  In it is a logbook that you sign with your username (signature.)  So in theory the amount of physical signatures you have all around should coincide with your online Geocaching profile showing how many you have found.  Simply, it’s a worldwide treasure hunt.  (Google it for more info.)

Each place I go to I look to see if there are any geocaches in the area.  And I (or we) go and search for them.  How can anyone not like playing hide and seek?

I was mocked recently when I said that my girlfriend and I went geocaching.  “How romantic?!” they muttered cheekily.  (The folly of those mockers.)

Because of this hobby, Catherine and I have seen some incredibly beautiful places.  That’s the BEST part of the hobby!  Is going to places that most people are not even aware of.

We’ve discovered the most stunning streams / breath-taking views of various towns / we’ve looked up and seen the incredible sky line.  We’ve come across incredible churches:

IMG_20141117_202106

My eyes have been opened.  In fact, we all should be good tour-guides of our own towns and cities.  (It’s not cool when people say “Ag, my town is boring!”)

As my minister told me recently:  “There are no boring situations, but rather, boring people.”  Bam!

This look and finding made me think of God and ourselves:

1 Chronicles 28: 9

“…For the Lord searches every heart and understands every motive behind the thoughts.  If you seek him, he will be found by you.”

2 Chronicles 16: 9

“For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.”

Do you see it?  There is a “sort of” spiritual hide and seek going on here.
If God looked into your life what would He find?
And I know God, really isn’t hiding!  But are you… searching for Him?

Quoted:

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen.” 2 Corinthians 4: 18

Leave a Reply

