Sacred Spaces 446– Fake Followers

Sacred Spaces 446– Fake Followers

9 December 2014

On a very negative view of things in the world: all things seem to get tainted and ruined!

I have found on twitter and Instagram the most annoying thing.  That I actually loathe.  (And I am not usually that sort of person.)

I get all these “fake followers” which makes me so livid.

People favouring my tweets or liking my Instagram pics just to get “traffic” and exposure to their sites.  They really don’t give a damn about me at all!

I get random companies who want me to follow them.
I get random fictitious Instagram followers who try to entice lust.

Why are there these horrible things in the world?

At its best; social media and blogging is about bringing people together.  Creating a genuine interested community.

But instead it gets spammed by advertising, greed, lust and evil.
These fake followers aggravate me so much!

It got me thinking a little bit about faith and us following God.
How often do myself and many others, fall into the “fake follower” category?

I’ve often see some people treat God as a “vending machine.”
What can I get out of Him?

Jesus challenged his disciples (and even us today) with these words after a hard teaching:

“You do not want to leave too, do you?” Jesus asked the Twelve. (John 6: 67)

 

How do you respond?

In a beautiful moment of love and loyalty Peter replied:

“Lord, to whom shall we go?  You have the words of eternal life.  We believe and know that you are the Holy One of God.”

twitter_follow_button (Medium)

Would that be your response today too?
Let’s not be fake followers!
We’re not following Jesus for business or monetary or popularity gain.

We follow Him because of love.  Amen!

Quoted:

“When I get back from this mountain, I don’t want to settle for ordinary things.  I’m gonna follow you for the rest of my days” Third Day (Show me Your glory)

One thought on “Sacred Spaces 446– Fake Followers

Leave a Reply

