Sacred Spaces 448– Be Strong and Courageous! (Welcome 2015)

Sacred Spaces 448– Be Strong and Courageous! (Welcome 2015)

6 January 2015

It’s good to be back writing and sending out these weekly thoughts.  Thanks for allowing the break (not that I need to ask for permission, haha!)
I hope these words bring encouragement and conviction again, in the year to come.  Godspeed, Darrel

This piece is based on Joshua 1: 1 – 9*

“Hi my name is Joshua,
I had to lead the Israel nation at one point.  I won’t lie, that calling frightened me.  But God had spoken and I had to obey.
Besides, I had seen evidence of His power already (So I took a step of faith and obeyed.)

I am sure, you have witnessed the power of God in your life too.  Look back, do you recall his movement and power in your past?  (So don’t be overwhelmed with another year ahead.)

I was introduced as Joshua, son of Nun (which is, not to my liking, too similar to ‘None’).  I was a helper of the great leader, Moses.  How on earth was I supposed to follow in those footsteps?

But truth is, ultimately you and I are not meant to follow in the footsteps of any “previous great leader” but in fact our Lord God.  (Did I just hear you say, ‘Amen’?)

All men are like grass, their glory withers like the grass (There is a verse similar to this line, I think.)

First thing, how did I deal with the BIG challenge ahead of me?  Well, I believed in the Lord’s promise.
Has He promised you something?  Well, then believe it.  Claim it!
(I’m not talking prosperity gospel here.  But actually having a genuine faith in the One we put our faith in.)

The Lord God declared that every place I set my feet, He would give me.  I held onto that truth!  Then, He assured me with this promise “Never, will I leave you nor forsake you.”

That’s a big deal that!

That means we are NEVER EVER alone.
We somehow tend to “cloud God” with the stuff of life.  And then we ask Him, where He is.
He’s there.  Just open your eyes.  Involve Him.  (Was that another, amen?)

He then said this command (and he said it three times):

BE STRONG AND COURAGEOUS!

(Perhaps, you need to hear that too at the start of 2015?)
There is a strength in Jesus.  There is a courage.  Why not tap into it?  Use it.

But the best thing God told me was to “obey all the law” and to “meditate on it day and night.”

(He wasn’t talking about the boring laws that govern a country or the law that leads to legalism.  No!  Not at all…)

He was talking about His Word.
In other words, time with Him.
In His presence.
He left us His words in His scriptures.
He left us a living word in Jesus.
He gives us his continued word through His spirit.

(God lives in you.  Now that’s a promise you can hold onto.  Will you?)

That remind me of a Psalm; I read in Psalm 63: “Oh God, you are my God, earnestly I seek You.” Or “Because your love is better than life.”

Nobody seems to live with that desperation and longing of God anymore?  With that passion… it’s rather sad.

Faith seems like a backpack… that we put on when it’s convenient.
Speaking of backpacks… that reminds me: so 2015 is a journey for each of us.
Me; Joshua.  And you.  Let’s go with God because He will be with you wherever you go…

AMEN!

(Thanks for listening / reading my monologue, yours in faith, Joshua)

*After the death of Moses the servant of the Lord, the Lord said to Joshua son of Nun, Moses’ aide: 2 “Moses my servant is dead. Now then, you and all these people, get ready to cross the Jordan River into the land I am about to give to them—to the Israelites. 3 I will give you every place where you set your foot, as I promised Moses. 4 Your territory will extend from the desert to Lebanon, and from the great river, the Euphrates—all the Hittite country—to the Mediterranean Sea in the west. 5 No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you. 6 Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their ancestors to give them.

 7 “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. 8 Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

il_fullxfull.410204233_bv1g

Quoted:

“BE STRONG AND COURAGEOUS!”

Leave a Reply

