Sacred Spaces 453– of Isaiah 55

Sacred Spaces 453– of Isaiah 55
18 February 2015

Each week, I wonder where these words fall.
(If they in fact make an impact, of some sort…)
I find myself in these lines of scripture this week:

1 ‘Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money,
Come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost.
3 Give ear and come to me; listen, that you may live. I will make an everlasting covenant with you,
8 ‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord.
9 ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: it will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.
(Pieces from Isaiah 55)

There is something alluring about God.  Dive in!
This section is entitled: Invitation to the Thirsty.  Isn’t that intriguing?  You’re longing for something more.  That can be found in God.
Verse 8 and 9 remind us that we cannot put God in a box.  We cannot put nice little edges to Him…

God has purposes and plans.  He will always prevail.  Despite the bleak circumstances we see around us.
Have you ever seen the snow and rain miss the ground?  Never!  (Basic law of gravity)
God’s word never misses.

Whether it be these words
Or a conversation with a friend or colleague or stranger…
Or a lyric from a song you hear on the radio…

Today we are on the verge of the Lenten journey.
It’s Ash Wednesday
Some churches will meet for a special service later where people are marked with ash in the shape of the cross on their foreheads.

Symbolising a death unto ourselves because of Jesus death.
We use the time of Lent to give up (or take on) something.
Don’t let LENT slip by?

Why do we give up something?  Simply when we crave that thing we “miss” (the thing we’ve given up… we turn that craving to attention on God.)
I’m not giving up anything.
But I will be taking on something.

I will be reading two Psalms every day.  From no 1 forwards in the morning.  (And from 150 backwards in the evening.)

You are invited… God is calling.  Will you listen?

Isaiah55-New

Quoted:

“Meditate on the words from the King’s lips.  Mark my words!” P.O.D

Leave a Reply

