Sacred Spaces 458– The gospel in songs: POD – I am

Sacred Spaces 458– The gospel in songs: POD – I am
21 April 2015

I heard this song, again, recently and felt a need to share it:
I’m intrigued by its message.

You can watch the LYRICS video here:

But I copied and pasted the chorus below:

“Are you the one that’s come to set me free?
Cause if you knew who I am, would you really wanna die for me?
They say you are the cursed man, the one who hangs from this tree
But I know this is the one and only Son of God, so tell me, who the f#%k is he?”

I’m disturbed and intrigued by it.  In their whole career POD have never sworn in their songs.  But this one they do.  Is the swearing justified?

(On the album I have at home, the swearing seems a little dubbed, as if to soften the blow, but you can still hear the word that is being said.)

What is this song about?
How do you feel about it?
Is there a message of hope in it?  Can the gospel be found in this song?

This is my take of the song:

– This song is not for the churched, but for those outside of the church
– This song is an invitation to the sinners of the world – the list in the song is quite descriptive and extensive.  Perhaps we’d find ourselves in that list?
– The song speaks and questions in the language of the people on the streets, the people outside the “neat pretty light world” of the church.
– The question in the chorus is one of genuine concern.
– The people admit their belief: He is the Son of God.
– But what does the Son of God mean for them?
– Does God forgiveness reach out to them?
– Because perhaps… those people have felt “out of reach” of God’s grace.

I’d hope they would not believe that to be true.
We’re all in the grip of God’s grace.

Then look how the song ends, with a piece of scripture… we are all familiar with:

This is me, we are him, and I am you
Old things pass away and all becomes new

So what are your thoughts and what is your take on this song?

Quoted:

“This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” 2 Corinthians 5: 17

Leave a Reply

