Sacred Spaces 460– Thought about a burning bush

Sacred Spaces 460– Thought about a burning bush

4 May 2015

 

So last night our band rocked up before the church service.  Plugged in and practiced.  Then 6pm comes around… then 6:10pm; and still no one at church.  So we cancelled the service on the spot.

Hmm, that’s a first for me, after working in the church over all these years; “No one arriving for the service.” Yoh!

(In hindsight, I think we as the band, should have done some sort of devotional.  Oh well, next time, but hopefully that will be a long time away…)

So I had looked through Exodus 3 for my sermon and thought I’d share some insights:

“One day Moses was tending the flock… There the angel of the Lord appeared to him” (vs 1 & 2)

Where did God meet with Moses?  At his workplace: “tending the flock”

Sometimes, we hold onto the belief that God only speaks to us in a set-aside place: Church or during our quiet times.  But perhaps in the “workplace” of your life… there God wants to speak to you too.

And then this verse that grabbed me the most:

When the Lord saw Moses coming to take a closer look, God called to him from the middle of the bush, “Moses! Moses!” (vs 4)

Moses had the option to take a closer look.

He was in the fields.

He glanced over and saw a bush burning, but the actually bush wasn’t burning.

That intrigued him, so he went over…

But he didn’t have to.

He could have carried on tending the flock and ignore the “invitation”

That God me thinking:

Is God alluring to you?

Does He draw your attention?

IMG_20150408_231106

How many people have missed the “invitation of God” or his alluring nature?

We witness the incredible full moon.

We witness a wonderful sunrise

We hold a baby in our arms.

But we miss the Creator…

——

And finally in verse 14, God calls Himself: I AM WHO I AM

I like that.  That name reminds us that God cannot be contained or figured out with neat little edges.

But that verse also reminded me of the different NAMES of God.

For how long have I started my prayers with “dear Lord?”

Perhaps, I should use another name for a change.   ‘Spice’ things up a bit, if you know what I mean.  Maybe like me, the name you use for God, has got to “familiar”

Why not use another one: Jehovah, Yahweh, Christ Jesus, or even Father God.

Would that maybe freshen up your outlook and journey with God?   Give it a bash…

Quoted:

“When the Lord saw Moses coming to take a closer look, God called to him from the middle of the bush, “Moses! Moses!”” Exodus 3: 4

2 thoughts on “Sacred Spaces 460– Thought about a burning bush

  1. Not the same but similar… I have scheduled an Alpha course. I said on Sunday, ‘No one has asked me for more details, but I intend to be here this afternoon to run the course. And if I have to talk to myself, I’ll do it.’ And that is what I did. I’ll do the same next Sunday afternoon and see what happens then. 😉

Leave a Reply

