Sacred Spaces 478– Showing interest in others

21 September 2015

On the weekend, my wife and I went to visit some friends in Joburg.  While we caught up and chatted over coffee and cake I brought out our (Catherine and my) wedding album.  As our friends paged through the album inspecting each photograph I felt genuinely thrilled with how they took such great interest in our album and reliving our wonderful wedding day.

They commented, chuckled and smiled at various pictures.  There genuine interest reminded me of this scripture:

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”  Philippians 2: 3, 4

Question for us: how interested are we in the lives of others?  Or are we rather self-focussed?

images

Quoted:

“Hey my friend
It seems your eyes are troubled
Care to share your time with me
Would you say you’re feeling low and so
A good idea would be to get it off your mind

Dave Matthews Band

Leave a Reply

