Sacred Spaces 487– Air for Free – (Relient K)

Sacred Spaces 487– Air for Free – (Relient K)
18 April 2016

Relient K “I wonder why I put a filter between beauty and my eyes.”

I received some exciting news during the past week.  After 3 years Relient K have announced their new album will be out in July 2016.  I feel so giddy.  I have journeyed and grown up with this band throughout the years.  Their new offering will be called: Air for Free.

download (1)

There is something so profound in that title.  And it hints at some direction that the album is heading.  The first song they have released: Look on Up, also suggests some continued depth in their lyrics.

Check out song here:

And so I guess, the fact that it taken 3 years to present another album is fitting to this first (shared with us) song.  They’ve been living without their devices…

I’ve always liked how Matt Thiessen has put their lyrics together.  Here are some of my favourites:

“I’m getting by with my collapsible lung
And it’s a good time 100% of the time
And I’m like a ladder with a missing rung
And it’s a slow climb headed back to the sky
And I’m feeling’ backwards when I’m trying the most
And I hope haven’t heard the last words from the Holy Ghost
Cause I think that I’m supposed to be
Well on my way by now” (Collapsible Lung)

“I listen to the sirens as they sing me back to sleep
I pray that no one’s seriously hurt
It feels like everything is dying at the pivot point of me
I listen to the sirens tell me things could still be worse” (I don’t need a soul)

“Explore the cave that is my chest
A torch reveals there’s nothing left
Your whispers echo off the walls
And you can hear my distant calls
The voice of who I used to be
Screaming out “someone, someone please”
Please shine a light into the black
Wade through the depths and bring me back” (I need You)

“And there’s just one last thing that I have to say
As we reflect on the mess of all this that I’ve made
It was cowardice that made me push you away
I was so afraid cause you were so much better than me” (The Thief)

“Who I am hates who I’ve been And who I am will take the second chance you gave me.
Who I am hates who I’ve been cause who I’ve been only ever made me…
So sorry for the person I became. So sorry that it took so long for me to change.
I’m ready to be sure I never become that way again” (Who I am hates who I’ve been)

“I’m out here way beyond a shadow of a doubt and i know I’m never falling out of favour with You” (Falling Out)

“You look down on me, but you don’t look down on me at all.
You smile and laugh, and I feel the love you have for me.
I think we’re going somewhere.
We’re on to something good here, and we’re gonna make it after all.” (Pressing on)

Which ones grab your attention?

This morning as I was thinking about this post I came across this verse in my daily devotion reading.  (see below under QUOTED)

King Jehoshaphat put singers in front of the army.  As the story goes… the singing “moves” people.  In the enemy’s case… it confused them and they started attacking each other.  Bizarre and funny story that.
But there is something amazing there.  Music inspires.  Music changes people. And with Relient K, God has often used their album sleeves as scripture to me…And challenged and moved me.

If you don’t know about Relient K, I have compiled links for you to one song from each of their past albums.  Enjoy:

So there is an anatomy of the tongue in cheek.  It starts with a girl asking you to Sadie Hawkins Dance.   Then you realise she will be a ticking time bomb and you would need her to wear Mood Rings so you can work out what she is thinking…Then you’d run away and ask God to Be my (your) Escape. Then you would discover The Best Thing! Ain’t that cool? But don’t forget and not slow down and grab that Boomerang and wait with anticipation for the new album:

(click on the links)

For Facebook followers here is one song link:

(If you believe Me)

For BLOG followers I have put up some more:

(Feel free to share which song you like?)

 NOW WHAT AMAZED ME THE MOST about the news and sharing of Look on Up was this:

i) How amazing is social media? That news can be spread so quickly.

ii) That the theme of the song (Look on Up) seems so fitting to the “struggle the world is currently battling with.

iii) That some blokes from Canton, Ohio can write some songs… and their inspiration can go all over the world.

iv) That a guy (a same age as me) across the world can be going through very similar stuff to me. (I can see it in his lyrics)

v) This piece from their Instagram post… was so moving:

Screenshot_2016-04-15-10-29-47

Thank you God, for incredible bands like this.  My simple prayer with this post is that even one person reading this will discover Relient K, like them, and connect with You through their music.

Quoted:

“After consulting the people, the king appointed singers to walk ahead of the army, singing to the Lord and praising him for his holy splendour.” 2 Chronicles 20: 21

Leave a Reply

